(1834-1966) British Government documents, including diplomatic dispatches, correspondence, investigative reports, treaties, and more, dating from the initial period of British colonization through the first years of African national independence. "Confidential prints" are British government documents generated by the Foreign and Colonial Offices, marked "confidential," and circulated to other Foreign Office officials as well as to the Cabinet and heads of British missions abroad. Useful for research on historical, political, social, and economic topics.
Part of Archives Direct.
For help using this collection, see the short (1 min.) videos on searching and filtering results.
Early Arabic Printed Books from the British Library (1475-1900) is the first full-text searchable digital library of early printed books in Arabic script. Covering religious literature, law, science, mathematics, astrology, alchemy, medicine, geography, travel, history, chronicles, and literature, and including European translations of Arabic works and Arabic translations of European books, it exemplifies the long exchange of ideas and learning between Europe and the Arabic-speaking world.
Early Arabic Printed Books from the British Library has been divided into three subject modules; however libraries with all three modules will have access to one seamless collection.
Module 1: Religion and Law
The Qu'ran, traditions (Hadith), tafsir, theology, commentaries on religious texts, religious teaching and practice, biographies of religious figures; law, fiqh and statutes, fatwas and rulings
Module 2: Sciences, History, and Geography
Natural history, medicine, physiology, other science, classical sciences, philosophy, logic, politics, ethics, mathematics, arithmetic, geometry, mechanics, astrology, chemistry; history, early caliphs and conquests, modern history, genealogy, biographies; geography and travel, regional geography, and topography
Module 3: Periodicals, Literature, Grammar, Language, Catalogues and General Works
Periodicals, folktales, pre-Islamic literature (Antar, Bani Hilal, Imru'l qays), Islamic poetry and prose (al-Burdah), poetry and prose (maqamat), Kalilah wa-dimnah, Luqman, proverbs and sayings, Thousand and one nights, later literature, poetry and prose, general literature; language and lexicography, dictionaries, grammar, syntax, rhetoric, 'ilm al-bayan, catalogues, manuscript catalogues, etc.
(1914-1974) British government and diplomatic documents related to the political history of Iraq in the 20th century. Includes dispatches, monthly and annual reports, minutes, official correspondence, and more.
These documents highlight the structure and activities of the Persian Gulf States’ and Yemen’s political system, government, judiciary, laws, military, customs, economy, finance, agriculture, natural resources, industry, communications, and media. Part of Archives Unbound
(1839-1969) British Government documents, including diplomatic dispatches, correspondence, investigative reports, political and economic analyses, and more, covering the countries of the Arabian peninsula, the Levant, Afghanistan, Iran, Iraq, Turkey, Egypt, and Sudan. "Confidential prints" are British government documents generated by the Foreign and Colonial Offices, marked "confidential," and circulated to other Foreign Office officials as well as to the Cabinet and heads of British missions abroad. Useful for research on historical, political, social, and economic topics.
(1793-1980) English-language sources related to China and the West from the earliest English embassy to the early years of the People's Republic. Includes diaries, letters, manuscripts, maps, photographs, paintings and drawings, documents related to missionary activities (including missionary periodicals), travelers' accounts, and ephemera.
Missionary, Sinology, and Literary Periodicals is a collection of 17 English-language periodicals published in or about China during a period of over 130 years, extending from 1817 until the founding of the People's Republic of China in 1949. This corresponds to the periods of the late Qing Dynasty and the Republican Era (1911-1949).
A primary source collection of digitized maps, manuscripts, books, pamphlets and paintings related to exploration, imperialism, and decolonization from archives around the world.
Generously funded for by the Mellon Grant.
(1200-1500) Digital facsimiles and English-language translations of medieval manuscripts that describe travel (both real and fictional). Most travel accounts describe journeys to the Holy Land, Persia, India, China, and South-East Asia. Includes maps.
A primary source collection of digitized maps, manuscripts, books, pamphlets and paintings related to exploration, imperialism, and decolonization from archives around the world.
Generously funded for by the Mellon Grant.
(1947-1980) British Government documents covering all South Asian countries during this period, including Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Ceylon/Sri Lanka, India, Nepal, Bhutan, Sikkim, and the Maldives. Includes government reports, diplomatic dispatches, maps, photographs, political, economic, and military analyses, statistics, and more.
Part of Archives Direct.
(1615-1947) Digital facsimiles of manuscripts from the National Library of Scotland. Includes diaries, journals, correspondence, official and private papers, histories, literary works, sketches, paintings, and more written by civil servants, diplomats, doctors, military officers, travelers, traders, tea planters, and others. Covers topics related to the social, economic, and political history of India; some documents also cover Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Afghanistan, Malaysia, and Singapore.
(1200-1500) Digital facsimiles and English-language translations of medieval manuscripts that describe travel (both real and fictional). Most travel accounts describe journeys to the Holy Land, Persia, India, China, and South-East Asia. Includes maps.
