Manoel de Oliveira Lima was a Brazilian diplomat, journalist, historian, and book collector whose career spanned Brazil's transition from empire to republic. Most of the pamphlets in the collection are on Brazilian subjects or their authors are Brazilian; the majority were published in Brazil or Portugal. Included here are approximately 3,800 publications from the mid-sixteenth century and the early days of printing and movable type into the first quarter of the twentieth century.
The most important subject areas are history, politics and literature. Other topics include social and economic conditions, travel, agriculture, immigration, indigenous peoples, religion, women's rights, biography, diplomacy, law, education, the press, medicine, public health, railroads, ports, foreign and international relations, geography, geology, art, academic societies, Pan-Americanism, positivism, the First World War, the Portuguese and Spanish empires, and Spanish American history and culture.
(1718-1876) Digital facsimiles of over 140 newspapers from 22 islands; countries represented include Antigua, Bahamas, Barbados, Cuba, Curaçao, Dominica, Grenada, Guadaloupe, Haiti, Jamaica, Martinique, Montserrat, Nevis, Puerto Rico, St. Bartholomew, St. Christopher, St. Lucia, St. Vincent, Tobago, Trinidad, and the Virgin Islands. English-language, with some Spanish, French, and Danish-language titles. Also includes newspapers from Bermuda.
Part of the Archive of Americana and America's Historical Newspapers. From the American Antiquarian Society.
(1833-1969) British Government documents, including diplomatic dispatches, correspondence, investigative reports, profiles of leading figures, description of tours, political and economic analyses, and maps, covering Central and South America and the French- and Spanish-speaking Caribbean. Topics covered include slavery and the slave trade, immigration, relations with indigenous peoples, wars and territorial disputes, industrial development, and the rise to power of populist rulers such as Perón in Argentina and Vargas in Brazil.
Part of Archives Direct.
For help using this collection, see the short (1 min.) videos on searching and filtering results.
(1805-1922) Latin American Newspapers, Series 1 and 2, 1805-1922, offer unprecedented coverage of the people, issues and events that shaped this vital region during the 19th and early 20th centuries. Featuring digital facsimiles of nineteenth and early twentieth-century Latin American newspapers from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela and a dozen other countries, these resources provide a wide range of viewpoints from diverse Latin American cultures.
The library was able to acquire the content in this database thanks to a generous gift from Mrs. Laura Landoe, a Davidson parent; we thank her for her support.
(c.1700s to the present) A collection of full-text literary works, memoirs, essays, and feminist works written by women in Mexico, Central America, and South America. Most of the texts are in Spanish and Portuguese.
(1500-1926) A digital collection of over 65,000 titles, including books, pamphlets, political tracts, maps, and other works about North, South, and Central America and the West Indies, from the time of their discovery to the early 1900s.
Part of Gale Primary Sources
The news and analysis in Immigrations, Migrations and Refugees: Global Perspectives comes from reports gathered every day between the early 1940s and 1996 by a U.S. government organization that became part of the CIA. These include translated and English-language radio and television broadcasts, newspapers, periodicals and government documents. Additionally, the archive contains one-of-a-kind analysis of the reports. Together, these sources constitute the only digital research tool that brings together local perspectives and global insight on immigration in the mid-to-late 20th century.
(1804-2009) Periodicals from the Church Missionary Society (CMS) and the South American Missionary Society (which merged to form the Church Mission Society) in the U.K.; includes the Church Missionary Gleaner, CMS Outlook, CMS
Intelligencer, Ruanda Notes (MAM News), the South American Missionary Magazine, and more. The CMS focused on social reform in England and evangelization in Africa, Asia, South America, the Mediterranean, the Middle East, and Oceania and was one of the most influential Protestant missionary societies.
(15th to the present) Contains digital facsimiles of original manuscripts, letters, expedition records, reports, maps, diaries, descriptions of voyages, and ephemera related to the history of Latin America and the Caribbean.
