Research Guides: History: Find Books &amp; Pamphlets

Books & pamphlets published in the United States

Library of Congress Digital Collections
A rich collection of primary sources related to U.S. history and culture; materials are drawn from the Library of Congress and other research libraries.
This collection is public domain and are not protected by copyright.
Archive of Americana
Historical collections that contain books, pamphlets, broadsides, newspapers, government documents and ephemera printed in America over centuries.
Archives Unbound
Gain access to rare primary source documents with these topically focused digital collections. Supports academic research.
Digital Public Library of America
Contains materials from libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural institutions across the United States.
Documenting the American South
A collection of primary sources on Southern history, culture, and literature from the colonial period through the early twentieth century. Includes diaries, first-person narratives, literary works, photographs, and other materials.
Empire Online
A collection of digitized maps, manuscripts, books, pamphlets and paintings related to exploration, imperialism, and decolonization from archives around the world.
Note: This collection is owned in perpetuity by Davidson College.
HeritageQuest
Genealogy research database. Includes historical census, PERSI, Revolutionary War records, and more.
Indigenous Peoples: North America
Gain insight into the cultural, political, and social history of Native Peoples from the seventeenth to the twentieth century.
Making of America
Digital library of 19th century primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.
Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises, 1800-1926 US & UK
(1800-1926) The Making of Modern Law features a fully searchable database of approximately 10 million pages and more than 21,000 works of U.S. and U.K. historical legal treatises; includes casebooks, local practice manuals, form books, works written for lay readers, pamphlets, letters, speeches, and more.
Part of Gale Primary Sources.
Making of the Modern World
Covers the history of Western trade, the rise of the modern labor movement, the evolving status of slavery, the condition and making of the working class, and colonization, and the economic theories that championed and challenged capitalism.
Part of Gale Primary Sources.
Davidson College access includes Part I, The Goldsmiths'-Kress Collection, 1450-1850 and Part II, 1851-1914
Nineteenth Century Collections Online
Discover primary source collections of the long nineteenth century. Sourced from almost one hundred major world libraries.
Sabin Americana, 1500-1926
A digital collection of books, pamphlets, political tracts, maps, and other works about North, South, and Central America and the West Indies, from the time of their discovery to the early 1900s.
Part of Gale Primary Sources
Slavery & Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive
Research, study, and discover endless teaching possibilities on understanding slavery from a multinational perspective.
History Vault
History Vault provides access to digitized letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, diaries, and many more primary source materials.

Books & pamphlets published in Great Britain

Archives Unbound
Gain access to rare primary source documents with these topically focused digital collections. Supports academic research.
Chatham House Online Archive
Discover content from the Royal Institute of International Affairs, the world-leading independent international affairs policy institute.
Early English Books Online (EEBO)
Features page images of almost every work printed in the British Isles and North America, as well as works in English printed elsewhere from 1470-1700.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online
Search and explore full-text digital versions of eighteenth-century book titles and other materials published in Great Britain and British North America during the eighteenth century.
Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises, 1800-1926 US & UK
(1800-1926) The Making of Modern Law features a fully searchable database of approximately 10 million pages and more than 21,000 works of U.S. and U.K. historical legal treatises; includes casebooks, local practice manuals, form books, works written for lay readers, pamphlets, letters, speeches, and more.
Part of Gale Primary Sources.
Making of the Modern World
Covers the history of Western trade, the rise of the modern labor movement, the evolving status of slavery, the condition and making of the working class, and colonization, and the economic theories that championed and challenged capitalism.
Part of Gale Primary Sources.
Davidson College access includes Part I, The Goldsmiths'-Kress Collection, 1450-1850 and Part II, 1851-1914
Nineteenth Century Collections Online
Discover primary source collections of the long nineteenth century. Sourced from almost one hundred major world libraries.
Slavery & Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive
Research, study, and discover endless teaching possibilities on understanding slavery from a multinational perspective.

Books & pamphlets published in Latin America

Brazilian and Portuguese History and Culture
Most of the pamphlets in the collection are on Brazilian subjects or their authors are Brazilian; the majority were published in Brazil or Portugal.

Books & pamphlets from the Middle East

Early Arabic Printed Books from the British Library
Early Arabic Printed Books from the British Library (1475-1900) is a full-text searchable digital library of early printed books in Arabic script. Davidson College has purchased all 3 modules.

Books & pamphlets about East Asia

China: Trade, Politics and Culture 1793-1980
Includes Documents encompassing events from the earliest English embassy to the birth and early years of the People’s Republic of China.
Note: This collection is owned in perpetuity by Davidson College.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online
Discover primary source collections of the long nineteenth century. Sourced from almost one hundred major world libraries.

Books, pamphlets, & manuscript collections related to South Asia

India, Raj, & Empire
Explore the history of South Asia between the foundation of the East India Company in 1615 and the end of British rule in 1947, through the manuscript collections of the National Library of Scotland.
Note: This collection is owned in perpetuity by Davidson College.

History

Davidson Library Catalog: Book Search

Subject terms in the library catalog

How to Find Ebooks

How to Find Books

Ask Us

Books & pamphlets published in the United States

Books & pamphlets published in Great Britain

Books & pamphlets published in Latin America

Books & pamphlets from the Middle East

Books & pamphlets about East Asia

Books, pamphlets, & manuscript collections related to South Asia