(1639-1819) Digital facsimiles of over 75,000 books, pamphlets, and broadsides published in the British North American colonies and United States. Contains: Series I: Evans (1639-1800), Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker (1801-1819), and Supplements from the Library Company of Philadelphia, 1670-1819.
This collection is part of the Archive of Americana.
This collection provides a history of the American people and a testament to the growth of the nation from the colonial period through to the twentieth century. The collection offers multiple perspectives on the thought, culture, and society of North America through the eyes of those who lived it.
This collection includes digital facsimiles of over 30,000 broadsides and ephemera, including advertisements, handbills, trade cards, theatre and music programs, stock certificates, menus, and many other works.
This archive contains manuscripts, artwork, and rare printed books dating from the earliest contact with European settlers right up to photographs and newspapers from the mid-twentieth century as well as a wide range of rare and original documents from treaties, speeches and diaries, to historic maps and travel journals.
A rich collection of primary sources related to U.S. history and culture; materials are drawn from the Library of Congress and other research libraries. Includes digitized manuscripts, government documents, pamphlets, and books as well as photographs, prints, maps, sheet music, video clips, and sound files. The Library believes that this content is either in the public domain, has no known copyright, or has been cleared by the copyright owner for public use.
This collection is public domain and are not protected by copyright
This database contains periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals. The collection draws from the American Periodicals Series Online and American Periodicals from the Center for Research Libraries. Generously funded for by the Mellon Grant.
The digital Archive of Americana is a family of comprehensive historical collections that allows researchers to discover and explore the United States in unprecedented depth and detail.
This archive searches many historical collections that contain books, pamphlets, broadsides, newspapers, government documents and ephemera printed in America over centuries.
Includes:
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998
African American Periodicals, 1825-1995
African History and Culture, 1540-1921
Afro-Americana Imprints, 1535-1922
America's Historical Imprints
America's Historical Newspapers
American State Papers, 1789-1838
Black Authors, 1556-1922
Caribbean History and Culture, 1535-1920
Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980
House and Senate Journals, Series I, 1789-1817
Senate Executive Journals, 1789 - 1980
The Civil War: Antebellum Period to Reconstruction, 1840-1877
U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817 - 1994
Crime, Punishment, and Popular Culture, 1790-1920 is an archive comprising more than 2 million pages. It contains manuscripts, books, broadsheets, and periodicals, some of the printed matter very scarce, such as Mary Fortune's 1871 The Detective's Album, a pioneering police procedural by a woman author, of which only two hard copies survive. Other material has been held in archives, often widely dispersed, and not always readily accessible to the researcher. Now such matter is digitized and carefully curated to present unparalleled opportunities for study, available all over the world.
(c.1948- ) Over 104,000 declassified U.S. government foreign policy documents organized in 49 collections that cover critical world events and U.S. policy decisions. These documents were obtained through the Freedom of Information Act and are drawn from the collections of the National Security Archive at George Washington University.
Included collections
Argentina, 1975-1980: The Making of U.S. Human Rights Policy
Chile and the United States: U.S. Policy toward Democracy, Dictatorship, and Human Rights, 1970–1990
CIA Covert Operations: From Carter to Obama, 1977-2010
CIA Covert Operations II: The Year of Intelligence, 1975
CIA Family Jewels Indexed
Colombia and the United States: Political Violence, Narcotics, and Human Rights, 1948-2010
The Cuban Missile Crisis: 50th Anniversary Update
The Cuban Missile Crisis Revisited: An International Collection, From Bay of Pigs to Nuclear Brink
Electronic Surveillance and the National Security Agency: From Shamrock to Snowden
Japan and the United States: Diplomatic, Security, and Economic Relations, Part III, 1961-2000
The Kissinger Conversations, Supplement: A Verbatim Record of U.S. Diplomacy, 1969–1977
The Kissinger Conversations, Supplement II: A Verbatim Record of U.S. Diplomacy, 1969-1977
The Kissinger Telephone Conversations: A Verbatim Record of U.S. Diplomacy, 1969-1977
Mexico-United States Counternarcotics Policy, 1969-2013
The National Security Agency: Organization and Operations, 1945-2009
Peru: Human Rights, Drugs and Democracy, 1980-2000
The President’s Daily Brief: Kennedy, Johnson, and the CIA, 1961-1969
Targeting Iraq, Part 1: Planning, Invasion, and Occupation, 1997-2004
U.S. Intelligence and China: Collection, Analysis and Covert Action
The U.S. Intelligence Community After 9/11
U.S. Intelligence on Weapons of Mass Destruction: From World War II to Iraq
U.S. Nuclear History, 1969-1976: Weapons, Arms Control, and War Plans in an Age of Strategic Parity
The United States and the Two Koreas, Part II, 1969-2010
The United States and the Two Koreas (1969-2000)
A portal to digital collections from American libraries, museums, and archives. Includes primary sources ranging from Exploration of the Americas to topics including Civil Rights and Women's Suffrage. Digital Exhibitions include stories of national significance drawn from source materials in libraries, archives, and museums across the United States.
A collection of primary sources on Southern history, culture, and literature from the colonial period through the early twentieth century. Includes diaries, first-person narratives, literary works, photographs, and other materials. From the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.
The collection is made up of several series which chronicles the evolution of American history, culture and daily life from 1690 to 1922. Early American newspapers, often printed by small-town printers, documented the daily life of hundreds of diverse American communities, supported different political parties and recorded both majority and minority views. This growing digital collection of early American newspapers is the most extensive resource of its kind with thousands of titles from all 50 states and the District of Columbia.
(1470-1700) Early English Books Online (EEBO) features page images of almost every work printed in the British Isles and North America, as well as works in English printed elsewhere from 1470-1700. Over 200 libraries worldwide have contributed to EEBO.
(1701-1800) Digital facsimiles of 185,000 books, pamphlets, almanacs, advertisements, songs, and other materials published in Great Britain and British North America during the eighteenth century.
Also available on Artemis.
Independent Voices comprises selections from alternative press collections of respected academic institutions across the country. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
Davidson College Library is a funding library for Reveal Digital, Independent Voices.
(17th-20th centuries) A digital collection of resources supporting research related to indigenous peoples; covers the fields of anthropology, ethnology, linguistics, literature, political science, and sociology. Contains facsimiles of manuscripts, rare books, newspapers, periodicals, census records, legal documents, maps, drawings and sketches, oral histories, photographs, and more. Also includes videos from the Bureau of Indian Affairs.
Part of Gale Primary Sources
Materials are drawn from collections of the National Archives, Library of Congress, Princeton University, University of Alberta, Moravian Archives, Gonzaga University, and other institutions.
(c.1730-1916) Digital collection of primary sources from the long nineteenth century. The content is sourced from the world's preeminent libraries and archives. It consists of monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, photographs, statistics, and other kinds of documents in both Western and non-Western languages.
Contains the following collections: Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange; British Politics and Society; British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture; European Literature, 1790-1840: The Covey Collection; Europe and Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, and Conquest; Photography: The World Through the Lens; Science, Technology and Medicine, 1780-1925; Women: Transnational Networks.
(1500-1926) A digital collection of over 65,000 titles, including books, pamphlets, political tracts, maps, and other works about North, South, and Central America and the West Indies, from the time of their discovery to the early 1900s.
Part of Gale Primary Sources
A resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history. Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000.
