This collection provides a history of the American people and a testament to the growth of the nation from the colonial period through to the twentieth century. The collection offers multiple perspectives on the thought, culture, and society of North America through the eyes of those who lived it.
Created from the Library Company’s acclaimed Afro-Americana Collection—an accumulation that began with Benjamin Franklin and steadily increased throughout its entire history. Includes books, pamphlets and broadsides, many lesser-known imprints.
This archive contains manuscripts, artwork, and rare printed books dating from the earliest contact with European settlers right up to photographs and newspapers from the mid-twentieth century as well as a wide range of rare and original documents from treaties, speeches and diaries, to historic maps and travel journals.
The Archives of Sexuality & Gender provides a robust and significant collection of primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender. With material dating back to the sixteenth century, researchers and scholars can examine how sexual norms have changed over time, health and hygiene, the development of sex education, the rise of sexology, changing gender roles, social movements and activism, erotica, and many other interesting topical areas. This growing archival program offers rich research opportunities across a wide span of human history.
Includes Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940, Parts I & II, and the Archives of Sexuality & Gender: Sex and Sexuality, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century
Drawing from the records of the American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU), it focuses on civil rights, race, gender, and issues relating to the U.S. Supreme Court— topics intensely relevant to today’s curriculum and debates at both national and local levels.
Covering the years from before the ACLU’s official founding in 1920 through the 20th century, this archive offers an array of primary source materials on some of the most important issues that affected the United States.
The papers are held at the Seeley G. Mudd Manuscript Library at Princeton University.
Within Oxford Reference, you may find results that range from short-entry, general reference to more in-depth articles on specialized subjects. Note: while we do not have access to all of the titles in the full collection, the default search covers the titles that Davidson owns.
A collection of online, annotated bibliographies; each entry is compiled by experts in the field and provides citations to the key literature on a topic, including print and online resources. We have access to selected collections only.
The library has the following collections:
--Cinema and Media Studies
--Latin American Studies
--Renaissance and Reformation
Biography Index Retrospective is an archive index covering notable individuals from all time periods and countries. Indexing and citations include book reviews, interviews, obituaries, diaries and memoirs.
Includes the full text of biographies from major reference works, such as The Grove Dictionary of Art, Current Biography, and The Dictionary of American Religious Biography, among others. Also includes Biography Index (1946-1983).
Covers more than 19,000 prominent U.S. men and women from all periods of history. Excludes living people.
The bibliographies are great tools for finding primary and secondary sources; they contain information about published and unpublished primary sources and evaluative comment on notable secondary sources.