History

Magazines focus on colonial life and the growing tensions between colonists and their oversea rulers leading up to the American Revolution and coverage moves into the 20th Century covering a variety of topics including art, commerce, education, health and medicine, military history, and politics. 
Part of Gale Primary Sources

Scholarly database for finding published material, with the scope of the bulk of searchable material extending from the 12th century through 1960.

Search Nineteenth Century newspapers across the following collections:
African American Newspapers: The 19th Century, The Civil War: A Newspaper Perspective, The Liberator, and Godey's Lady's Book.

Periodicals by and about African Americans; includes magazines, academic and political journals, institutional newsletters, organizations' bulletins, and more.

A rich collection of primary sources related to U.S. history and culture; materials are drawn from the Library of Congress and other research libraries.

This database contains periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals.

Digital library of 19th century primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.

This resource covers issues in the public debate through selective coverage of a wide variety of international source. Includes PAIS International and PAIS Archive. The original, historical subject headings have been retained.

Periodicals Index Online is a database of citations for articles published in the arts, humanities and social sciences.

Index of subjects in the popular press and all information from 44 Readers’ Guide annuals.

The Time Magazine Archive consists of cover to cover processing dating back to issue number one in 1923 of the American popular magazine Time, published by Time Inc. It includes full page images, with searchable text and indexing of all content (including advertisements).

The Life Magazine Archive consists of cover to cover processing dating back to issue number one in 1936 of the American variety magazine Life, published by Time Inc.

The People Magazine Archive consists of cover to cover processing dating back to issue number one in 1974 of the American popular magazine People, published by Time Inc.

Scholarly database for finding published material, with the scope of the bulk of searchable material extending from the 12th century through 1960.

Documenting missionary work from the nineteenth to the twenty-first century, the periodicals include news, journals and reports on global missions and cultural encounters.

Note: This collection is owned in perpetuity by Davidson College.

Search or browse all Gale newspaper and periodical archives simultaneously.

Periodicals Index Online is a database of citations for articles published in the arts, humanities and social sciences.

Fully searchable digital facsimiles of the complete run of this British weekly humor magazine; Punch was known for its cartoons and for comic writing by Thackeray and P.G. Wodehouse, among others.
Part of Gale Primary Sources