Digitized primary sources spanning the humanities and social sciences, from medieval manuscripts to 20th century global politics. This database will allow the user to cross search across all Adam Mathew Digital databases that Davidson subscribes to at the same time.
Themes of the collections include cultural studies, gender and sexuality, empire and globalism, history, literature, politics, theater, and war and conflict.
A multi-disciplinary resource, this is a set of collections that cover a broad range of topics from the Middle Ages forward-from Witchcraft to World War II to twentieth-century political history. Particular strengths include U.S. foreign policy; U.S. civil rights; global affairs and colonial studies; and modern history.
Primary sources, unpublished historical documents from private and governmental collections.
An integrated research environment that allows users to search across all of their Gale primary source collections. Through intuitive subject-indexing users will discover new material even in the most familiar of content sets. Includes digital facsimiles of books, manuscripts, some newspapers, photographs, and more.
• 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection
• 19th Century UK Periodicals
• American Fiction, 1774-1920
• Archives Unbound
• Archives of Sexuality & Gender
• Associated Press Collections Online
• Brazilian and Portuguese History and Culture
• British Library Newspapers
• China from Empire to Republic
• Crime, Punishment, and Popular Culture 1790-1920
• Daily Mail Historical Archive, 1896-2004
• Eighteenth Century Collections Online
• Indigenous Peoples: North America
• Liberty Magazine Historical Archive, 1924-1950
• Nineteenth Century Collections Online
• Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers
• Picture Post Historical Archive, 1938-1957
• Punch Historical Archive, 1841-1992
• Sabin Americana, 1500-1926
• Smithsonian Collections Online
• The Economist Historical Archive, 1843-2012
• The Financial Times Historical Archive, 1888-2010
• The Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003
• The Independent Digital Archive, 1986-2012
• The Listener Historical Archive 1929-1991
• The Making of Modern Law: Foreign Primary Sources
• The Making of Modern Law: Foreign, Comparative and International Law, 1600-1926
• The Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises, 1800-1926
• The Making of Modern Law: Primary Sources
• The Making of Modern Law: Trials, 1600-1926
• The Making of the Modern World
• The Sunday Times Digital Archive, 1822-2006
• The Telegraph Historical Archive, 1855-2000
• The Times Digital Archive, 1822-2021
• Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive, 1902-2019
• U.S. Declassified Documents Online
History Vault provides access to millions of primary source, cross-searchable, full-text/full-image documents on the most widely studied topics in 19th and 20th-century American history.
Davidson College Library has permanent access to selected modules within these collections:
Civil Rights and the Black Freedom Struggle
Southern Life, Slavery, and the Civil War
American Politics and Society
African American Police League Records
Slavery in Antebellum Southern Industries
International Relations and Military Conflicts
Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Organizational Records and Personal Papers and Federal Government Records, Supplement.