Public Papers of the Presidents [official publication]
Government Information Stacks GS 4.113: 1945 through GS 4.113. Papers for George H.W. Bush, Clinton, and George W. Bush are available online from the G.P.O.
U.S. Intelligence reports from various countries (China, Japan, France, Germany, Italy, Argentina, Mexico, the Soviet Union/Russia) throughout World War I & II. Also contains Bi-Weekly Intelligence summaries and combat estimates. Part of ProQuest History Vault.
A rich collection of primary sources related to U.S. history and culture; materials are drawn from the Library of Congress and other research libraries. Includes digitized manuscripts, government documents, pamphlets, and books as well as photographs, prints, maps, sheet music, video clips, and sound files. The Library believes that this content is either in the public domain, has no known copyright, or has been cleared by the copyright owner for public use.
This collection is public domain and are not protected by copyright
A fully searchable digital edition of the record of floor action from the early U.S. Senate and House of Representatives, which chronicles matters considered on the floor, votes and other actions taken, executive department communications and more. Digitized from the original printings of the journals.
This collection is part of the Archive of Americana.
(1789 to present) Indexes congressional documents, with the full text of bills and resolutions, congressional hearings, the Congressional Record, Congressional Research Service (CRS) reports, and more. Search tip: for Boolean operators, use uppercase letters (AND, OR, NOT)
Includes the full text of:
The Congressional Record(1789 to present)
Congressional Hearings (1824 to present), both published and unpublished
Committee reports (1990 to present)
Congressional Research Digital Collection (1830 to present), which contains over 26,000 committee prints and over 32,000 Congressional Research Service reports (1916 to present)
House & Senate documents (1995 to present)
Bills and resolutions, including profiles and tracking (1789 to present)
Public laws (1988 to present)
U.S. Code
Code of Federal Regulations (1981 to present)
Federal Register (1980 to present)
Biographical information & voting records (1988 to present)
Roll Call (1989 to present)
Executive Orders and Presidential Proclamations 1789-Present
Only available to Davidson College faculty, staff, and students.
Features the deliberations of American Senators on a wide variety of events, organizations and people, with a strong focus on nominations across military, judicial and executive branches and on international treaties.
This collection is part of the Archive of Americana.
Congress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information. The site provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information for Members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the public. It is presented by the Library of Congress (LOC) using data from the Office of the Clerk of the U.S. House of Representatives, the Office of the Secretary of the Senate, the Government Publishing Office, Congressional Budget Office, and the LOC's Congressional Research Service.
(1817-1994) Digital facsimiles of U.S. Senate and House of Representatives reports, documents, and journals, which provide a rich collection of primary source materials on all aspects of U.S. cultural, economic, ethnic, military, political, and social history.
This collection is part of the Archive of Americana.
(c.1940-1980) A collection of over 700,000 full-text, declassified U.S. government documents and significant materials highlighting the political, social, and economic development and forces in post-World War II America. Materials include State Department political analyses, White House confidential file materials, National Security Council policy statements, CIA intelligence memoranda, and much more.
Gale's U.S. Declassified Documents Online (USDDO) had its origins in a microfiche collection called Declassified Documents Reference System (DDRS).
(c.1948- ) Over 104,000 declassified U.S. government foreign policy documents organized in 49 collections that cover critical world events and U.S. policy decisions. These documents were obtained through the Freedom of Information Act and are drawn from the collections of the National Security Archive at George Washington University.
Included collections
Argentina, 1975-1980: The Making of U.S. Human Rights Policy
Chile and the United States: U.S. Policy toward Democracy, Dictatorship, and Human Rights, 1970–1990
CIA Covert Operations: From Carter to Obama, 1977-2010
CIA Covert Operations II: The Year of Intelligence, 1975
CIA Family Jewels Indexed
Colombia and the United States: Political Violence, Narcotics, and Human Rights, 1948-2010
The Cuban Missile Crisis: 50th Anniversary Update
The Cuban Missile Crisis Revisited: An International Collection, From Bay of Pigs to Nuclear Brink
Electronic Surveillance and the National Security Agency: From Shamrock to Snowden
Japan and the United States: Diplomatic, Security, and Economic Relations, Part III, 1961-2000
The Kissinger Conversations, Supplement: A Verbatim Record of U.S. Diplomacy, 1969–1977
The Kissinger Conversations, Supplement II: A Verbatim Record of U.S. Diplomacy, 1969-1977
The Kissinger Telephone Conversations: A Verbatim Record of U.S. Diplomacy, 1969-1977
Mexico-United States Counternarcotics Policy, 1969-2013
The National Security Agency: Organization and Operations, 1945-2009
Peru: Human Rights, Drugs and Democracy, 1980-2000
The President’s Daily Brief: Kennedy, Johnson, and the CIA, 1961-1969
Targeting Iraq, Part 1: Planning, Invasion, and Occupation, 1997-2004
U.S. Intelligence and China: Collection, Analysis and Covert Action
The U.S. Intelligence Community After 9/11
U.S. Intelligence on Weapons of Mass Destruction: From World War II to Iraq
U.S. Nuclear History, 1969-1976: Weapons, Arms Control, and War Plans in an Age of Strategic Parity
The United States and the Two Koreas, Part II, 1969-2010
The United States and the Two Koreas (1969-2000)
Historical U.S. Census data (1790-2010) and demographic information from the annual updates of the American Community Survey and the Religious Congregations and Membership Study (1980-2000). Also provides tools for creating maps and reports that allow you to visualize and analyze the data.
(1941-1996) The full text of U.S. Government transcriptions and translations of foreign news broadcasts, including clandestine broadcasts from occupied territories; these reports were used by U.S. intelligence services, policy makers, and analysts and are a valuable primary source collection for historical and political science research.
For FBIS reports from 1996 to the present, search World News Connection.
(1957-1994) Full-text, English-language translations of foreign language newspaper articles, radio and television broadcasts, journal articles, reports, and monographs. Covers economics, international relations, national politics, military affairs, and science and technology topics from all regions of the world, with a particular emphasis on communist and third-world countries.
Established in 1957, JPRS supplied U.S. federal government agencies with translations of political, scientific and technical literature. In 1995, JPRS publications were merged into the Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports.
Foreign Relations of the United States
Foreign Relations of the United States. Washington, DC: U.S.G.P.O., 1861- . Government Information Stacks S1.1
