History

Search newspaper titles and pamphlets from the collection of Reverend Charles Burney. Coverage includes seventeenth and eighteenth-century British political history, economics and business, literature, advertising, theatre, the press, and more.

The collection charts the history of the development of the press in England and provides invaluable insight into seventeenth and eighteenth century England.

Sourced from the holdings of the British Library, local and regional voices reflect the social, political, and cultural events of the eighteenth, nineteenth, and twentieth centuries. Davidson has access to Parts I-V.

Covers a critical period of rapid revolution in the justice and penal system, which set up many of the systems still in place today. Includes English archival crime material, American material, and the Police Gazette of Queensland, Australia.

Features page images of almost every work printed in the British Isles and North America, as well as works in English printed elsewhere from 1470-1700.

Search and explore full-text digital versions of eighteenth-century book titles and other materials published in Great Britain and British North America during the eighteenth century.

A collection of digitized maps, manuscripts, books, pamphlets and paintings related to exploration, imperialism, and decolonization from archives around the world.
Note: This collection is owned in perpetuity by Davidson College.

Search or browse all Gale newspaper and periodical archives simultaneously.

Discover primary source collections of the long nineteenth century. Sourced from almost one hundred major world libraries.

The complete full color archive of The Picture Post, a popular, weekly pictorial magazine and photo-journalism pioneer.
Part of Gale Primary Sources

Fully searchable digital facsimiles of the complete run of this British weekly humor magazine; Punch was known for its cartoons and for comic writing by Thackeray and P.G. Wodehouse, among others.
Part of Gale Primary Sources

Complete online coverage of the sessional papers of the British House of Commons and the 19th Century House of Lords.