A rich collection of primary sources related to U.S. history and culture; materials are drawn from the Library of Congress and other research libraries. Includes digitized manuscripts, government documents, pamphlets, and books as well as photographs, prints, maps, sheet music, video clips, and sound files. The Library believes that this content is either in the public domain, has no known copyright, or has been cleared by the copyright owner for public use.
This collection is public domain and are not protected by copyright
(1826 to present) The Associated Press Images Collection™ is a primary source database from the Associated Press (AP), one of the oldest and largest news organizations in the world. Over 12 million photographs from the Associated Press, the largest news organization in the world. Also includes diagrams, charts, maps, and timelines as well as audio clips (1920s to present) and news briefs (1997 to present). Updated daily.
Photographs and graphics from AP Images cannot be sold, syndicated, loaned or used for advertising or for trade without the written consent of AP. In addition, users cannot republish any of the photographs on a Web page.
The Artstor Digital Library is a database of high quality images for use in the humanities.
Images are also accessible through the JSTOR platform. Spring 2024 this database will relocate to the "J" page and accessible through JSTOR.
Explore more than 86,000 African Heritage site objects including scholarly research, books, historical and recent documents, maps, site plans or diagrams, and photographs and slides. Spatial data includes 3D models and plans of structures and surrounding landscapes, geographic information systems (GIS), ground plans, façade views of structures, stereo and digital images, panorama images, and digital video of African Heritage sites.
(17th-20th centuries) A digital collection of resources supporting research related to indigenous peoples; covers the fields of anthropology, ethnology, linguistics, literature, political science, and sociology. Contains facsimiles of manuscripts, rare books, newspapers, periodicals, census records, legal documents, maps, drawings and sketches, oral histories, photographs, and more. Also includes videos from the Bureau of Indian Affairs.
Part of Gale Primary Sources
Materials are drawn from collections of the National Archives, Library of Congress, Princeton University, University of Alberta, Moravian Archives, Gonzaga University, and other institutions.
A portal to digital collections from American libraries, museums, and archives. Includes primary sources ranging from Exploration of the Americas to topics including Civil Rights and Women's Suffrage. Digital Exhibitions include stories of national significance drawn from source materials in libraries, archives, and museums across the United States.
Global Plants is the world’s largest database of digitized plant specimens and a locus for international scientific research and collaboration. A growing collection of nearly three million high-resolution type specimens and related materials from community contributors around the world. The largest of its kind, Global Plants consists of 66 sub-collections, showcasing hand-selected specimens that have been meticulously digitized. This resource also features reference works and primary sources, such as collectors’ correspondence and diaries, illustrations, and photographs.
(1933-mid1960s) Full-text and full-image primary and secondary sources related to the Holocaust, from the Wiener Library in London, the oldest Holocaust museum. Includes Nazi propaganda, eyewitness accounts, photographs, and Wiener Library publications. Part of Archives Unbound.
75% of the materials are in German; 20% are in English, and 3% are in French. The database can be searched in either English or German.
