Research Guides: How to Find Newspapers: Current Newspapers

Looking for a Specific Newspaper

Journal Finder
A list of journals, magazines, and newspapers available at Davidson; covers all formats, including print and online.
Tip: search by newspaper title.

Note about Current Newspapers

Davidson's current newspapers collection mirrors the print version of various newspapers. It does not mirror the newspaper's website. This may affect you in the following ways:
- Because articles are frequently reformatted for newspapers, Davidson's digitized articles may be retitled. If you're searching for the full-text of a paywalled article, you can often copy and paste its first sentence into the search bar.
- Because articles are often published online before they're printed, there's a short "lag" before Davidson has access to some articles. Often, this delay only lasts a few hours. However, smaller newspapers (like the Charlotte Observer) may have a delay of 24 hours.
New York Times Site License: For access to the New York Times via their website, create an account using your Davidson email. Refer to the NYT guide for further instructions.

ProQuest Newsstand
Full text articles from over 1300 newspapers, news websites and blogs . Includes the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, Washington Post, USA Today, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, The Guardian and other national and regional titles.

Access World News
Contains diverse global, local, regional, and national newspapers, newswires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, videos, periodicals, and web-only content.
Includes electronic access to the Charlotte Observer (1886-present), in addition to many local North Carolina newspapers.
U.S. Newsstream
News content from many national and international newspapers, newswires and selected news magazines.
Nexis Uni
(c. 1980 to present) Full text articles from local, national, and international newspapers.

Use is restricted to current faculty and staff and currently-enrolled students of Davidson College only.
WestLaw Campus Research

WestSearch examines all core legal content for the jurisdiction you choose.
Note: Usage is unlimited however document delivery is limited. Recommended best practice is to bookmark documents in your browser rather than download.
World News Connection
English-language summaries and translations of foreign news reports, conference proceedings, radio and television broadcasts, periodicals, non-classified technical reports, and other local media sources from around the world covering 1995-2013.

For earlier years, see the FBIS Daily Reports (1941-1996) database.

These materials are provided by the Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) to the National Technical Information Service (NTIS).