The newspapers we carry vary in date range. Look at the descriptions of the resources below to determine if they match the dates you are interested in.
Some of our older newspapers are available on microfilm. To see more on how to locate and use microfilm see Using Microfilm.
U.S. newspapers: 18th-20th century, multi-title collections
(c. 1827-1902) Selected full-text, nineteenth-century periodicals.
The library subscribes to: African American Newspapers: The 19th Century, The Civil War: A Newspaper Perspective, The Liberator, and Godey's Lady's Book.
(1690-1998) Digital facsimiles of over 1,000 newspapers. Includes: African American Newspapers (1827-1998), Caribbean Newspapers (1718-1876), Early American Newspapers (1690-1922), Hispanic American Newspapers (1808-1980)
Associated Press Collections Online (Gale) focuses on making the varied treasures of the Associated Press Corporate Archives, AP Images, and AP Archive available to libraries worldwide. Exploring the history and back story of the venerable Associated Press—decades' worth of wire copy, correspondence, memos, internal publications, and more.
Includes full-text coverage of US newspapers listed below, with the earliest starting in the late 19th century and many continuing through the 20th century.
Davidson has purchased perpetual access to:
Atlanta Daily World (1931-2010)
Chicago Defender (1909-2010)
Chinese Newspapers Collection (1832 - 1953)
Cleveland Call and Post (1934-1991)
Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005)
New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993)
Norfolk Journal and Guide (1916-2010)
Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2001)
Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002)
The Atlanta Constitution (1868-1945)
The Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988)
The New York Times with Index (1851-2013)
The Wall Street Journal (1889-1999)
The Washington Post (1877-1999)
