Featuring titles from Algeria to Angola, Zambia to Zimbabwe, this unique resource chronicles the evolution of Africa through eyewitness reporting, editorials, legislative information, letters, poetry, advertisements, obituaries and other items.
(1718-1876) Digital facsimiles of over 140 newspapers from 22 islands; countries represented include Antigua, Bahamas, Barbados, Cuba, Curaçao, Dominica, Grenada, Guadaloupe, Haiti, Jamaica, Martinique, Montserrat, Nevis, Puerto Rico, St. Bartholomew, St. Christopher, St. Lucia, St. Vincent, Tobago, Trinidad, and the Virgin Islands. English-language, with some Spanish, French, and Danish-language titles. Also includes newspapers from Bermuda.
Part of the Archive of Americana and America's Historical Newspapers. From the American Antiquarian Society.
(c. 1700-2009) Search or browse all Gale newspaper and periodical archives simultaneously. Includes the following collections: 17th & 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers, 17th and 18th Century Nichols Newspapers Collection, 19th Century British Library Newspapers, 19th Century U.S. Newspapers, Daily Mail, Financial Times, Illustrated London News, Sunday Times, and Times. Also includes archives of the following periodicals:19th Century U.K. Periodicals, The Economist, Liberty Magazine, Listener, and Times Literary Supplement.
(1805-1922) Latin American Newspapers, Series 1 and 2, 1805-1922, offer unprecedented coverage of the people, issues and events that shaped this vital region during the 19th and early 20th centuries. Featuring digital facsimiles of nineteenth and early twentieth-century Latin American newspapers from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela and a dozen other countries, these resources provide a wide range of viewpoints from diverse Latin American cultures.
The library was able to acquire the content in this database thanks to a generous gift from Mrs. Laura Landoe, a Davidson parent; we thank her for her support.
Gain insight into Chinese political and social life during the turbulent 120 year period from 1832 to 1953 with 12 English-language Chinese historical newspapers. Included are critical perspectives on the ending of more than 2,000 years of imperial rule in China, the Taiping Rebellion, the Opium Wars with Great Britain, the Boxer Rebellion and the events leading up to the1911 Xinhai Revolution, and the subsequent founding of the Republic of China. In addition to the article content, the full-image newspapers offer searchable access to advertisements, editorials, cartoons, and classified ads that illuminate history.
This unique collection is cross-searchable with all ProQuest historical and current newspapers, as well as with other resources your library subscribes to on ProQuest.
(c. 1603-1800) Digital facsimiles of approximately 1,270 seventeenth and eighteenth-century English newspapers from the British Library's Burney Collection; includes London, English provincial, Scottish, Irish, and colonial North American papers. This collection helps researchers chart the development of the newspaper as we now know it, beginning with irregularly published transcriptions of Parliamentary debates and proclamations to coffee house newsbooks, finally arriving at newspaper in its current form.
The 17th and 18th Century Nichols Newspapers Collection features the newspapers, periodicals, pamphlets and broadsheets that form the Nichols newspaper collection held at the Bodleian library in Oxford, UK. All 296 volumes of bound material, covering the period 1672-1737 are presented in digitized format here. The collection charts the history of the development of the press in England and provides invaluable insight into seventeenth and eighteenth century England.
This collection charts the history of the development of the press in England and provides invaluable insight into 17th-18th century England.
