Davidson's current newspapers collection mirrors the print version of various newspapers. It does not mirror the newspaper's website. This may affect you in the following ways:
Because articles are frequently reformatted for newspapers, Davidson's digitized articles may be retitled. If you're searching for the full-text of a paywalled article, you can often copy and paste its first sentence into the search bar.
Because articles are often published online before they're printed, there's a short "lag" before Davidson has access to some articles. Often, this delay only lasts a few hours. However, smaller newspapers (like the Charlotte Observer) may have a delay of 24 hours.
Full text articles from over 1300 newspapers, news websites and blogs . Includes the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, Washington Post, USA Today, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, The Guardian and other national and regional titles.
Contains diverse global, local, regional, and national perspectives on topics related to controversial issues, the environment, health, education, science, the arts, literature, business, economics, criminal justice, and more from a variety of current and retrospective news media including newspapers, newswires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, videos, periodicals, and web-only content. Includes electronic access to the Charlotte Observer (1886-present), in addition to many local North Carolina newspapers.
(1980 - current) Provides access to the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. Includes access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and The Wall Street Journal among many others. US Newsstream also offers one of the largest collections of local and regional newspapers, and is cross-searchable on the ProQuest platform.
Full-text national and international news articles and legal documents; also contains several notable legal reference works.
The "News & Information" section contains articles from magazines, national and international newspapers, and business, professional, and trade journals as well as newswires, newsletters, and transcripts of television broadcasts. The "Law" section contains important primary law sources as well as analytical sources, including state statutes, federal statutes published in the U.S. Code Annotated, federal and state cases, including Supreme Court cases, federal regulations published in the Federal Register and Code of Federal Regulations, European Union law, American Law Reports, American Jurisprudence, 2nd, an important encyclopedia covering state and federal law, and over 800 law reviews and journals.
Available for the use of currently enrolled students and currently employed faculty and staff, limited to educational purposes directly related to your coursework or for scholarly research at Davidson. All other use including any use for other employment, student externship or similar positions is prohibited.
(1995-2013) Full-text, English-language summaries and translations of foreign news reports, conference proceedings, radio and television broadcasts, periodicals, non-classified technical reports, and other local media sources from around the world. Covers political, scientific, socioeconomic, technical, and environmental issues and events. Note: because the government is no longer providing the content for this database, it became an archive only after 31 December 2013.
For earlier years, see the FBIS Daily Reports (1941-1996) database.
These materials are provided by the Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) to the National Technical Information Service (NTIS).