Research Guides: How to Find Newspapers: Southeast

U.S. Newspapers: Southeast

Alabama - Chronicling America (Library of Congress)
Chronicling America is a site managed by the Library of Congress and supported by the National Endowment for the Humanities. It contains a directory of newspapers published in the United States and includes digitized images of select newspaper titles.
more...less...
Sample Newspaper:
Birmingham Age-Herald (Birmingham, AL), 1897-1921
Birmingham State Herald (Birmingham, AL), 1895-1897
Huntsville Gazette (Huntsville, AL), 1881-1894
Florida - Chronicling America (Library of Congress)
Chronicling America is a site managed by the Library of Congress and supported by the National Endowment for the Humanities. It contains a directory of newspapers published in the United States and includes digitized images of select newspaper titles.
more...less...
Sample Newspapers:
Key West Citizen (Key West, FL), 1926-1954
Lakeland Evening Telegram (Lakeland, FL), 1911-1922
Ocala Evening Star (Ocala, FL), 1895-1922
Pensacola Journal (Pensacola, FL), 1905-1922
Georgia - Georgia Historic Newspapers
Managed by the Digital Library of Georgia and part of Georgia's Virtual Library GALILEO, the Georgia Historic Newspapers Archive provides free, open access to more than 2,000,000 pages of newspapers published in Georgia between 1763 and 2021.
more...less...
Sample Newspapers:
Atlanta Constitution (Atlanta, GA), 1885-1903
Daily Chronicle & Sentinel (Augusta, GA), 1840-1860
Union Recorder (Midgeville, GA), 1886-1936
Weekly Sun (Columbus, GA), 1859-1873
Louisiana - Chronicling America (Library of Congress)
Chronicling America is a site managed by the Library of Congress and supported by the National Endowment for the Humanities. It contains a directory of newspapers published in the United States and includes digitized images of select newspaper titles.
more...less...
Sample Newspapers:
Bossier Banner (Bellevue, LA), 1859-1922
Colfax Chronicle (Colfax, LA), 1877-1922
New Orleans Daily Crescent (New Orleans, LA), 1852-1866
New Orleans Republican (New Orleans, LA), 1867-1878
Opelousas Courier (Opelousas, LA), 1852-1910
North Carolina - North Carolina Newspapers (Digital NC)
This collection includes a number of student and community newspapers from communities across North Carolina. DigitalNC is managed by UNC Chapel Hill's Wilson Special Collections Library and supports statewide digitization and digital publishing of unique collections in NC.
more...less...
Sample Newspapers:
The Charlotte Post (Charlotte, NC), 1930-2007
The Daily Observer (Charlotte, NC), 1873-1886
The North Carolina Standard (Raleigh, NC), 1850-1870
The North Carolina Star (Raleigh, NC), 1808-1856
The Progressive Farmer (Raleigh, NC), 1886-1922
The Raleigh Register (Raleigh, NC), 1823-1868
The Western Democrat (Charlotte, NC), 1853-1870
South Carolina - Historical Newspapers of South Carolina
The University of South Carolina manages more than 300,000 digital images from more than 100 historical South Carolina newspaper titles. Initially part of the National Digital Newspaper Program, this project includes 10 digitized African American newspapers published in South Carolina between 1865 and 1922.
more...less...
Sample Newspapers:
Abbeville Press and Banner (Abbeville, SC), 1869-1922
Anderson Intelligencer (Anderson, SC), 1860-1906
Camden Chronicle (Camden, SC), 1891-1950
Charleston Daily News (Charleston, SC), 1865-1873
Edgefield Advertiser (Edgefield, SC), 1836-1922
Gamecock (Columbia, SC), 1908-2006
The Sun (Newberry, SC), 1937-1972
Watchman and Southron (Sumter, SC), 1881-1922
Tennessee - Chronicling America (Library of Congress)
Chronicling America is a site managed by the Library of Congress and supported by the National Endowment for the Humanities. It contains a directory of newspapers published in the United States and includes digitized images of select newspaper titles.
more...less...
Sample Newspapers:
Knoxville Daily Chronicle (Knoxville, TN), 1870-1882
Memphis Daily Appeal (Memphis, TN), 1857-1886
Nashville Union and American (Nashville, TN), 1853-1862
Public Ledger (Memphis, TN), 1866-1883
Virginia - The Virginia Chronicle
The Virginia Chronicle provides free access and full-text searching of more than 1,000,000 newspaper pages.
more...less...
Sample Newspapers:
Alexandria Gazette (Alexandria, VA), 1834-1923
Culpeper Gazette (Culpeper, VA), 1827-1876
Richmond Dispatch (Richmond, VA), 1884-1903
Richmond Enquirer (Richmond, VA), 1815-1867

How to Find Newspapers

Ask Us

U.S. newspapers: 19th century newspapers on microfilm

U.S. Newspapers: Southeast