Research Guides: Remote Learning & Research: Newspapers & Newspaper Articles

Recommended news sources

Access World News
Contains diverse global, local, regional, and national newspapers, newswires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, videos, periodicals, and web-only content.
Includes electronic access to the Charlotte Observer (1886-present), in addition to many local North Carolina newspapers.
U.S. Newsstream
News content from many national and international newspapers, newswires and selected news magazines.
Nexis Uni
Coverage of news and current events, government, business, medical, and legal topics, as well as general reference information is included.
Use is restricted to current faculty and staff and currently-enrolled students of Davidson College only.
WestLaw Campus Research
WestSearch examines all core legal content for the jurisdiction you choose.
Note: Usage is unlimited however document delivery is limited. Recommended best practice is to bookmark documents in your browser rather than download.
World News Connection
English-language summaries and translations of foreign news reports, conference proceedings, radio and television broadcasts, periodicals, non-classified technical reports, and other local media sources from around the world covering 1995-2013.

For earlier years, see the FBIS Daily Reports (1941-1996) database.
These materials are provided by the Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) to the National Technical Information Service (NTIS).

International newspaper: 20th and 21st century article translations

Access World News
Contains diverse global, local, regional, and national newspapers, newswires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, videos, periodicals, and web-only content.
Includes electronic access to the Charlotte Observer (1886-present), in addition to many local North Carolina newspapers.
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports
Digital archive of the United States’ principal record of historical open source intelligence.
For FBIS reports from 1996 to the present, search World News Connection.
Joint Publications Research Service (JPRS) Reports
English-language translations of foreign language newspaper articles, radio and television broadcasts, journal articles, reports, and monographs.
Nexis Uni
Coverage of news and current events, government, business, medical, and legal topics, as well as general reference information is included.
Use is restricted to current faculty and staff and currently-enrolled students of Davidson College only.
World News Connection
English-language summaries and translations of foreign news reports, conference proceedings, radio and television broadcasts, periodicals, non-classified technical reports, and other local media sources from around the world covering 1995-2013.

For earlier years, see the FBIS Daily Reports (1941-1996) database.
These materials are provided by the Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) to the National Technical Information Service (NTIS).

U.S. newspapers: 18th-20th century, multi-title collections

Accessible Archives
Search Nineteenth Century newspapers across the following collections:
African American Newspapers: The 19th Century, The Civil War: A Newspaper Perspective, The Liberator, and Godey's Lady's Book.
America's Historical Newspapers
Database of newspapers including African American Newspapers (1827-1998), Caribbean Newspapers (1718-1876), Early American Newspapers (1690-1922), Hispanic American Newspapers (1808-1980).
Part of the Archive of Americana.
Associated Press Collections Online (Gale)
Collections of the Associated Press Corporate Archives, AP Images, and AP Archive including wire copy, correspondence, memos, internal publications, and more.
Historical Newspapers
Includes full-text coverage of US newspapers listed below, with the earliest starting in the late 19th century and many continuing through the 20th century.
Davidson has purchased perpetual access to:
The Atlanta Constitution (1868-1945)
Atlanta Daily World (1931-2010)
The Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988)
Chicago Defender (1909-2010)
Chinese Newspapers Collection (1832 - 1953)
Cleveland Call and Post (1934-1991)
Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005)
New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993)
The New York Times with Index (1851-2020)
Norfolk Journal and Guide (1916-2010)
Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2001)
Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002)
The Wall Street Journal (1889-2013)
The Washington Post (1877-2008)
Gale NewsVault
Search or browse all Gale newspaper and periodical archives simultaneously.
Includes the following collections:
17th & 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers,
17th and 18th Century Nichols Newspapers Collection,
19th Century British Library Newspapers,
19th Century U.S. Newspapers,
Daily Mail,
Financial Times,
Illustrated London News, Sunday Times, and Times.
Also includes archives of the following periodicals:
19th Century U.K. Periodicals, The Economist, Liberty Magazine, Listener, and Times Literary Supplement.

International newspapers: 17th-20th century, multi-title collections

Gale NewsVault
Search or browse all Gale newspaper and periodical archives simultaneously.
Includes the following collections:
17th & 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers,
17th and 18th Century Nichols Newspapers Collection,
19th Century British Library Newspapers,
19th Century U.S. Newspapers,
Daily Mail,
Financial Times,
Illustrated London News, Sunday Times, and Times.
Also includes archives of the following periodicals:
19th Century U.K. Periodicals, The Economist, Liberty Magazine, Listener, and Times Literary Supplement.
Latin American Newspapers Series 1 and 2, 1805-1922
Coverage of the people, issues and events that shaped this vital region during the 19th and early 20th centuries.
The library was able to acquire the content in this database thanks to a generous gift from Mrs. Laura Landoe, a Davidson parent; we thank her for her support.