Open Access

July 2024, Davidson College Library entered into a subscription agreement with ACM to entitle our institution full access to subscriptions through ACM Digital Library and additionally, allows are authors to publish unlimited articles on an Open Access basis in any of ACM journals, magazines, and proceedings at no additional cost.

Please reach out to Kelly Denzer, kedenzer@davidson.edu, Collections Strategist and Discovery Librarian if you have any questions

ACM is committed to a sustainable future where all peer reviewed scholarly articles will be published in the ACM Digital Library on an Open Access (OA) basis. Provided it is achieved in a sustainable manner, the transition to OA should be greatly beneficial to the advancement of computer science in the form of increased usage and citation of research.

ACM’s high-impact, peer-reviewed journals publish emerging and established computing research for both practical and theoretical applications. All ACM conferences, journals, and magazines, for which ACM manages production and rights, are eligible for Open Access publishing. All corresponding authors from current ACM OPEN licensing institutions may publish an unlimited number of accepted research articles in these publications.

The ACM Digital Library (DL) is the world’s most comprehensive database of full-text articles and bibliographic literature covering computing and information technology.  This renowned repository includes the complete collection of ACM publications plus an extended bibliographic database of core works in computing from scholarly publishers. 

The following information comes from the ACM website: https://www.acm.org/publications/openaccess#acmopenexperience, please refer to the website for further information.

An accepted manuscript is eligible for ACM OPEN when the corresponding author’s primary affiliation is one that currently participates in ACM OPEN.

The corresponding author is tasked with completing the ACM assignment of rights and permissions on behalf of their co-authors. The corresponding author designation must be made in the conference or journal submission system and the corresponding author must include their primary affiliation and use their institutional email address. The primary affiliation for each author should be the institution where the majority of their work was done.

Following transmission of the manuscript to ACM production, the corresponding author will be asked to complete the assignment of rights and permissions on our eRights form. It is on this form that the corresponding author may select the rights to be granted and their choice of Creative Commons license. Following submission of the eRights form, the corresponding author’s choices are logged with ACM and the appropriate rights statement is applied to the manuscript prior to publication.

APC-eligible stands for Article Processing Charge Eligible articles. These are the ACM published article or content types where ACM and its partner institutions have agreed that ACM will charge APCs and include in the ACM Open program. These are also the content types most funding agencies worldwide have indicated that research funding may be used to pay APCs, so these fees are reimbersable to the author(s) by those funders.