Skip to main content

Justice, Equality, Community (JEC) Initiative

A centralized overview of digitized materials and archives initiatives funded by the archives portion of the Justice, Equality, Community grant at Davidson College (2017 - 2020).

Digitized Resources

Faculty Minutes, 19th Century19th Century Faculty Minutes 

These typescripts of the nineteenth century faculty meeting minutes are akeyword searchable. The collection also contains the minutes of the Trustees of Western Carolina College (1821 - 1824). These records include information about disciplinary actions, course recommendations, the effects of the Civil War, and the treatment of college "servants."

 

Records of the Board of Trustees, 19th Century19th Century Trustee Minutes

These typescripts of the nineteenth century trustee meeting minutes are keyword searchable. The Board of Trustees originally comprised of representatives from the various local Presbyterian synods. These records include information about disciplinary actions, faculty proposals, the effects of the Civil War, and the treatment of college "servants."

 

BSC Rainbow Revue Newsletter 

The Black Student Coalition was founded in 1967 "to establish and maintain a spirit of solidarity among the black students of Davidson College." The Rainbow Revue newsletter, as well as an unnamed 1979-1980 newsletter, connected the group's events and updates to the larger campus community.

 

Selected Chaplain's Office Records

This selection of files includes printed material relating to programs, minutes of the Council on Religious Life, Jewish Student Union records, and general files on religion at Davidson.

Arabic Bible of Omar ibn Sayyid

This exhibit is a curated collection of scanned leaves from an Arabic Bible owned by Omar ibn Sayyid, as well as his two Arabic translations of the Lord’s Prayer, all dating back to the early-to-mid 19th century. The selected Bible leaves feature notations authored by Sayyid at an unknown date in the margins of the printed text (marginalia).

 

Edgeworth Female Seminary Tuition from Chalmers CollectionSelected Chalmers Davidson Plantation Files 

This collection contains the research materials collected by Dr. Davidson for his research in writing The Plantation World Around Davidson. These digitized files are original plantation records from families like the Davidsons of Rural Hill and the Brevard family.

 

Selected manuscript document from the Robert Z Johnston collectionRobert Zenas Johnston Collection

This collection concerns Robert Zenas Johnston (1834-1908) and includes school notebooks from Davidson College and Columbia Theological Seminary, student essays, correspondence, his sermons (1859-1907) and speeches, as well as a small amount of financial and printed materials. 

 

Davidson in the 1840s by Jethro Rumple​Jethro Rumple Collection: The collection consists of correspondence concerning the Concord Presbytery, the manuscript of a biography of Rev. John Bunyan Shearer, and manuscript notes about Davidson College in the 1840s, including information about Esom, the president's "body servant."

 

 

Community Relations Committee

Also referred to as the Community Relations Task Force, the collection consists of a copy of the founding ordinance, minutes, and related records for the period 1979 to 1988. There are printed minutes and handwritten notes, copies of resolutions, and newspaper clippings. During this time the committee worked with the Davidson Community Development Club to address issues related to housing, the community center, and plans for Griffith Street.

As part of the JEC grant, the Archives digitized over two dozen oral histories. Below you will find a selection of those titles. If you would like to learn more about accessing these oral histories, please email archives@davidson.edu

 

Audio 2: Davidson History, Miss Newtie Deal Johnston, 1976

Subjects: Davidson, NC History  

Audio 4: Davidson History, Miss Louise Withers Sloan, 1976                       

Subjects: Davidson, NC History  

Audio 7: Davidson History, Mrs. Dell Arbuckle Logan, Mrs. Letitia Currie, Mrs. Lucy Johnston, 1976

Subjects: Davidson, NC History  

Audio 107: Common Ground Oral History/Project, Patricia Sailstad, 04/01/1997                     

Subjects: Davidson, NC – History, Race Relations

Audio 112: Common Ground - Mary Potts, Sarah Jetton, Frances Houston Beale, Mary Louise Brawley Ivey, 09/15/1997                 

Subjects: Davidson, NC - History, Davidson, NC - Churches           

Audio 152: Oral History/Interview, Marion Cole, Barbara Gammon, Jan Blodgett, 10/12/2000                     

Subjects: Davidson, NC

Audio 163: Oral History/Interview, Frank Vinson, Aileen Vinson, 08/27/2002             

Subjects: Davidson, NC - First Baptist Church      

Audio 166: Oral History/Interview, Theodore Roosevelt Wilson, 09/20/2002                            

Subjects: Davidson, NC - Race Relations

Audio 177: Alumni Oral History Interview - John Knox Wilson, September 2004             

Subjects: Davidson College, Davidson, NC            

Audio 276: Alumni Oral History Interview - Samuel R. Spencer, 09/30/2005                            

Subjects: Davidson, NC 

Audio 278: Alumni Oral History Interview - Art Lesesne '61, 04/28/2006 

Subjects: Davidson, NC 

Audio 279: Alumni Oral History Interview – Hollis “Hobby” Cobb '56, 04/28/2006       

Subjects: Davidson, NC, Davidson College      

Related Resources

On the Archives Website:

Shared Stories: A collection of photographs, oral histories, and records documenting the lives and contributions of African-Americans in the greater Cornelius, Davidson, and Huntersville, NC area.

Lake Norman Student Projects: A collection of senior capstone projects centered on the social and environmental history of Lake Norman and the surrounding communities. Topics include pollution, housing, flooding, and demographic change.

Around the D: The official blog for the Davidson College Archives, Special Collections, and Community department. Here you'll find posts on subjects from race relations, gender, integration, holiday traditions, to rare books. 

 

Research Guides:

19th Century Primary Resources GuideA listing of 19th century primary sources about local people and events found in the archives at Davidson, supplemented by the library's extensive e-resources.

Lingle Hut GuideA listing of resources found in the archives of Davidson College related to the Lingle Hut, a local historic landmark associated with Reeves Temple AME Zion Church.

Digital Collections Guide: A centralized collection of digitized resources available through the archives at Davidson.

Questions? Need help? Ask Us
Davidson College Library, Box 7200, 209 Ridge Rd., Davidson, NC 28035-7200
Creative Commons license logo for CC by-sa 4.0
This Davidson College Library Research Guides are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.
All box-title icons from Entypo pictograms by Daniel Bruce — www.entypo.com