Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Justice, Equality, Community (JEC) Initiative

A centralized overview of digitized materials and archives initiatives funded by the archives portion of the Justice, Equality, Community grant at Davidson College (2017 - 2020).

JEC Student and Alumni Advisory Council

 

students, faculty, staff gather in library classroom to view archival documents

The JEC Student and Alumni Advisory Council, composed of Davidson College students and recent alumni and led by the JEC Project Archivist, was created in Fall 2018 to document and publicize the ways in which students have engaged with and responded to historical and contemporary manifestations of injustice and inequality in Davidson and the surrounding area.

Members work to synthesize information from academic, administrative, and social spheres for a better understanding of campus culture and greater acknowledgment of student work. To accomplish this, members identify, collect, and potentially digitize the data, records, and oral histories of student organizations and their community partners, both through the acquisition of existing documentation and the recording of information that does not exist in a formal or textual source.

 

For more information, please email Jessica Cottle at jecottle@davidson.edu

 

Selected Events

Railroad map from the 1920s of downtown DavidsonLingle Hut:

On November 14, 2018, the Archives, Special Collections, & Community team welcomed members of Reeves Temple AME Zion Church for a panel discussion about the Lingle Hut and its importance to the broader Davidson community as a gathering place. 

Black History Month:

On February 17, 2018, Archives, Special Collections, & Community collaborated with the Davidson Public Library for an event centering the history of Davidson's west side communities. We shared archival resources and contact information in an effort to build equitable partnerships.

Davidson College Summer Institute:

Through the grant, the Archives, Special Collections, & Community team and the Educational Studies Department at Davidson College shared the College's archival resources and oral history tools with public school teachers in the humanities, particularly around local issues of “justice, equality, and community” in a week-long seminar-style workshop. 

If you are interested in collaborating on similar events, please email archives@davidson.edu or jecottle@davidson.edu.

Questions? Need help? Ask Us
Davidson College Library, Box 7200, 209 Ridge Rd., Davidson, NC 28035-7200
Creative Commons license logo for CC by-sa 4.0
This Davidson College Library Research Guides are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.
All box-title icons from Entypo pictograms by Daniel Bruce — www.entypo.com