Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

How to Find Videos: Kanopy Streaming

How to find streaming videos and DVDs, create playlists and clips, and more

Current Kanopy Licenses

Once the purchase of a license is triggered at the 4th view of a title for more than 30 secs., Davidson College has unlimited viewing access to the film for 12 months. Linked below is the titles Davidson College has licensed over the past 12 months and will not trigger a charge to our library.

Click on this Spreadsheet to view Davidson College Current Kanopy Licenses

This list is updated monthly, as new titles become available, and old titles fall off.

 

Kanopy Collections Offered at Davidson College

These are the providers whose films are authorized for Davidson users to access unmediated. Any other title needed for course use needs to be requested through the Kanopy site. To do this, search for the film, if you see a message that indicates the film is not available at your library, click to request, fill in your name, email, course number and how the film will be used and submit. An email will be sent to the Collection Strategist at the library, who will then request the license from Kanopy.  The following collections were chosen based on faculty interest that we were aware of at the time of selection and the popularity of the collections in the previous year on Kanopy on that are not available on other Davidson College platforms.

 

What it is

Kanopy is a streaming service offering movies, documentaries, foreign films, and classic and Independent films. Davidson College students, faculty, and staff have unmediated access to certain collections within the Kanopy streaming service. See the list on the left of this guide for the collections available unmediated. Films in these collections can be watched in fully or partially by anyone at Davidson College. Upon the 4th view of a title that goes beyond 30 seconds, a 12-month license is purchased, this license is as high as $135.00.

For mediated collections, faculty can request immediate purchase of required films for a course on the Kanopy platform. Simply fill out the form and indicate which course the film is required viewing. Please allow 5- 7 days for a request to process through the library and Kanopy, although in most cases requests are fulfilled in 2-3 days. Prices vary. If you want to know the price of any title before you request the purchase, contact Kelly Denzer (kedenzer@davidson.edu).

Kanopy supports simultaneous usage on all films so multiple users can access the same film on their own devices at the same time.

Preview Films before Playing

If you would like to preview a movie: Trailers are available on some titles on Kanopy while using the web platform. If available, you will see a Trailer button below the video player. Simply click this button to view. Trailers are provided by a third-party (Youtube). This is the best option for a preview and will not cost Davidson the additional 31+ sec view that could lead to an unnecessary license purchase.

Linking to Kanopy Films

Kanopy films are available to Davidson College students, staff, and faculty through the Davidson Kanopy site. To log-in, you will be sent to the Single Sign On page and gain access with your Davidson College credentials. If faculty request specific films for courses, the titles are accessible to all Davidson College students, staff, and faculty. To share a link on your syllabus or Moodle classroom, use the "share" option located below the film title.

Creating Clips and Playlists

When a clip or playlist is created, it has a unique URL and can be made public or kept private. The URL can be shared with others via email or otherwise, and there is a unique embed code for it as well. All clips and playlists will be saved on the platform for you under your profile, so that it is not lost and you can always revisit it (unless you manually delete the clip/playlist).  

  1. Find the video that you want to create your first clip from. You can access the Playlist and Clip Creation Tool from any video on your institution’s Video Portal by clicking the "Create Clip/Playlist" button under the video player.
  2. If you are not already signed in, the website will prompt you to log into your account so you can begin creating and managing your playlists. You can sign in with your social media account, your existing video portal account, or you can create a new account.
  3. Once you signed in to your account, click on "Create Clip/Playlist" again and an option to create a new playlist will appear. Type in the name of your new playlist and click "Create." This will automatically add the current video to your playlist.
  4. If you are adding to an existing playlist, click "Add Video" to add the video on this current video page to your playlist. You will see the number of clips change when adding the video.
  5. Click on "Edit Playlist" to trim down the whole video into the clip that you want.
  6. You can now edit the playlist title if you want to change it. Click "Save Changes" before navigating away from the page to ensure the new title is saved. To trim down the whole video into a clip, click "Edit."
  7. To select the clip that you want in your playlist, you can either:
    - Click the player to start the film. When you want your clip to start, click "Capture" next to "Start Time". Then click "Capture" next to "Stop Time" when you want the clip to end.
    - Enter in the timecodes manually.

    Once you are happy with your clip, click "Save Clip"

Questions? Need help? Ask Us
Davidson College Library, Box 7200, 209 Ridge Rd., Davidson, NC 28035-7200
Creative Commons license logo for CC by-sa 4.0
This Davidson College Library Research Guides are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.
All box-title icons from Entypo pictograms by Daniel Bruce — www.entypo.com