Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Microaggressions: Finding Davidson College Archives and Library Resources

This research guide contains listings of Davidson College library and archives materials related to microaggressions, diversity and inclusion, social justice, and equity.

Overview

Manuscript materials are largely unpublished documents such as diaries, letters, speeches and sermons. The collections may be about an individual, a family, or a group. The majority of our collections relate to students and alumni of Davidson College and to civic organizations in the town of Davidson, North Carolina.

Listed below are relevant collections that highlight student and institutional engagement with issues related to diversity and inclusion, social justice, and equity. Collections are organized by manuscript number, along with a brief description of the collection's contents, and are hyperlinked to the collection's digital finding aid.

Manuscript Collections

Common Ground, Records 1995 - (DC056)

Description: Common Ground formed in August 1995 with the purpose of "promoting communication and understanding, and improve relations among people of all races in Davidson." Activities of the group included hosting monthly public meetings, organizing cross-town block parties, hosting candidate forums during election years and providing mediation services. A part of Common Ground, the Community Relations Task Force, was formed at the request of then mayor, Randall Kincaid. Originally a town committee, Common Ground took over the responsibilities of the re-formed Community Relations Task Force in 2001.

Community Relations Committee, Davidson, NC, Records - (DC0218s)

Description: In 1973, the town of Davidson passed an ordinance to establish the "Mayor's Committee on Community Relations." This committee consisted of five members and its responsibilities were to "anticipate, consider and deal with social problems within the community, including but not limited to open housing, fair employment and public accommodations." 

Questions? Need help? Ask Us
Davidson College Library, Box 7200, 209 Ridge Rd., Davidson, NC 28035-7200
Creative Commons license logo for CC by-sa 4.0
This Davidson College Library Research Guides are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.
All box-title icons from Entypo pictograms by Daniel Bruce — www.entypo.com