Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Microaggressions: Finding Davidson College Archives and Library Resources

This research guide contains listings of Davidson College library and archives materials related to microaggressions, diversity and inclusion, social justice, and equity.

Overview

Archival materials are the institutional records of Davidson College from its establishment in 1837 to the present day. Included within the collections are president's office records, academic department files, and student organization records. 

Listed below are relevant collections that highlight student and institutional engagement with issues related to diversity and inclusion, social justice, and equity. Collections are organized by record group, along with a brief description of the collection's contents, and are hyperlinked to the collection's digital finding aid.

President's Office (RG 2)

Presidential Committees, Committee on Minorities, (1980 -), Advisory Committee on Racial/Ethnic Affairs (RG 2-4-4)

Description: The Committee on Minorities was established in 1980 by President Spencer to "remain alert to the concerns and needs of minorities at Davidson, especially members of the black minority, to monitor our progress in that area and to make recommendations." The committee was active from 1980 to 1985 and reestablished in 1988 by President Kuykendall. 

Institutional Research, Self Study Records, 1965 - (RG 2-5-3)

Description: The office oversees the gathering and reporting of data for reports to government agencies, publications, and other organizations and coordinates applied research intended to inform institutional planning, policy formulation, and decision making. Included are reports on the student experience, the establishment of non-western studies programs, religious life, and "special populations" sub-committees.

Vice President for Academic Affairs and Dean of the Faculty (RG 3)

Vice President for Academic Affairs, Committee on Pluralism (RG 3-1-2-006)

Description: The Committee on Pluralism was established in 1986 to develop and implement a program during freshman orientation that will enhance cooperation, interaction, and understanding between the races, as outlined in the Task Force Report on Racial/Ethnic Concerns. 

Vice President for Academic Affairs, Commission on Extra-Campus Responsibilities, 1968-1969 (RG 3-1-2-018)

Description: The Commission saw their responsibility to be "to delineate Davidson's role in confronting more directly the Southeast, a region which has been plagued for a century by problems of racial discrimination, economic deprivation, and cultural malnutrition." The Commission recommended Davidson's expanded involvement in three areas: (1) Education for the Disadvantaged, (2) Continuing Education and (3) more relevant and realistic relations with the local community.

Vice President for College Relations (RG 5)

College Communications, Publicity Files - Subjects (RG 5-7-3b)

Description: This collection consists of publicity and information files compiled on campus related topics. The files may contain newspaper clippings, press releases, and photographs. These include materials on "Minority Recruitment," "Project 87," "Black Students and Culture, 1984 - 1989," "Sex Bias in Admissions, 1987​," and the AIDS crisis.

Vice President for Student Life and Dean of Students (RG 6)

Vice President for Student Life and Dean of Students, Records, 1926- (RG 6-1)

Description: The collection consists of administrative files from the Vice President's office which include annual reports from divisions, committee files, planning files for orientation and hall counselor training, and files on student organizations and programs. Folders include: "1990-1991 Annual Report - Minority Student Programs," "SCOPE (Standing Committee on Pluralistic Environments), 1986," "Sexual Harassment and Rape at Davidson College, 1992," and several event posters.

Student Work (RG 10)

Student Work (RG 10-1)

Description: This collection consists of student papers donated by several academic departments, with most of these examples from the 1970s forward. Works include oral history interviews with members of the Westside Stakeholders, the Davidson Fire Department, the Ada Jenkins Center, and a handful of individuals associated with Davidson College in some way. There are also several student papers discussing racial barriers in the town of Davidson.

Student Organizations (RG 12)

Black Student Coalition (BSC), Records, 1972- (RG 12-30)

Description: The Black Student Coalition was founded in 1967 "to establish and maintain a spirit of solidarity among the black students of Davidson College." Also included is a letter to Kappa Alpha fraternity requesting that they not flaunt their "Old South" practice and a newspaper article about the black population at Davidson. View some digitized records from the BSC here

Asian Culture and Awareness Association (ACAA), Records, 2000 - (RG 12-67)

Description: The Asia3D organization, later changed to ASIA Club and then to Asian Culture and Awareness Association (ACAA), was founded in the spring of 2000. The organization is a social and educational group hoping to bring together all parts of the Davidson community in order to raise awareness of Asia and Asian Americans. 

Gay-Straight Alliance (GSA), Records, 2001- (RG 12-83)

Description: After several other unsuccessful attempts, the Gay-Straight Alliance (GSA) was created by Alison Shea (class of 2003) and held its first meeting on September 26, 2001.This collection contains event announcements, meeting flyers, articles concerning the creation of the Gay-Straight Alliance, and flyers concerning the Day of Silence. 

Rape Awareness Committee - RAC, Records, 1985- (RG 12-130)

Description: In January 1985, members of the college community formed the Raised Awareness and Protection for Everyone (R.A.P.E.) committee. The committee came to be renamed the Rape Awareness Committee (RAC). First Responders operates under RAC. Trained student volunteers were on call to counsel rape victims.

Questions? Need help? Ask Us
Davidson College Library, Box 7200, 209 Ridge Rd., Davidson, NC 28035-7200
Creative Commons license logo for CC by-sa 4.0
This Davidson College Library Research Guides are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.
All box-title icons from Entypo pictograms by Daniel Bruce — www.entypo.com