Research Guides: Little Magazines: Reference Sources/Background

Guides to little magazines

Oxford English Dictionary (OED) Online
The full text of the 2nd edition of the OED and the 3 volume Additions Series as well as new and revised entries that will form part of the upcoming 3rd edition (in progress). Search OED Online for word definitions, etymologies, and quotations.

Encyclopedia of Literary Modernism
Ed. Paul Poplawski. Westport, CT: Greenwood, 2003.

Gale eBooks Reference Library
The full text of over 1,000 reference books -- including many scholarly subject encyclopedias -- covering a wide variety of disciplines and subjects. A good source for background information. Includes Twayne's Authors Series.
Gale Literature Resource Center
Find up-to-date biographies, overviews, full-text criticisms, audio interviews, and reviews on writers from all eras.

Oxford Encyclopedia of American Literature
Ed. Jay Parini. 4 vols. New York: Oxford, 2004.
Oxford Encyclopedia of British Literature
Ed. David Scott Kastan. 5 vols. New York: Oxford, 2006.

Literary Research and the American Modernist Era: Strategies and Sources
Robert N. Matouzzi and Elizabeth Blakesley Lindsay. Lanham, MD: Scarecrow, 2008.
Reference Stacks PS228. M63 M38 2008
Literary Research and the American Realism and Naturalism Period: Strategies and Sources
Linda L. Stein and Peter J. Lehu. Lanham, MD: Scarecrow, 2009.
Reference Stacks PS217.R4 S74 2009
Literary Research and British Modernism: Strategies and Sources
Alison M. Lewis. Lanham, MD: Scarecrow, 2010.
Reference Stacks PR478 .M6 L45 2010
Literary Research Guide: An Annotated Listing of Reference Sources in English Literary Studies
5th ed. James L. Harner. New York: Modern Language Association, 2008.
Reference Stacks PR83 .H370 2008

American National Biography
Discover biographies of significant, influential or notorious figures from American history written by prominent scholars.
The bibliographies are great tools for finding primary and secondary sources; they contain information about published and unpublished primary sources and evaluative comment on notable secondary sources.
Biography Index Retrospective 1946-1983
An archive index covering notable individuals from antiquity through 1983. Indexing and citations include book reviews, interviews, obituaries, diaries and memoirs.

The Harlem Renaissance and Beyond: Literary Biographies of 100 Black Women Writers, 1900-1945
Lorraine Elena Roses and Ruth Elizabeth Randolph. Boston, MA: G.K. Hall, 1990.
Reference Stacks 928.1 R816h

Gale Literature Resource Center
Find up-to-date biographies, overviews, full-text criticisms, audio interviews, and reviews on writers from all eras.

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
Ed. H.C.G. Matthew and Brian Harrison. 60 vols. New York: Oxford Univ. Press, 2004.
Reference Stacks 920 N2111