Skip to main content
The Liberator, Aug. 1922
Cover of the August 1922 issue of The Liberator, from the Davidson College Library collection.
Blue Mountain Project
A digital collection of issues from over 1,500 important periodicals of the European avant-garde. Issues date from 1853-1942. Includes Broom, Bruno's Weekly, and more.
From the University of Chicago Library. Digitized issues are keyword searchable, and can be browsed by volume and date.
International Dada Archive
From the University of Iowa Libraries
Includes the Digital Dada Library
, which contains digital facsimiles of issues from several little magazines.
Little Magazines Project
From Nottingham Trent University, U.K.
Includes a bibliography of little magazines from 1945 as well as indexes to a number of them. The project will eventually expand to include little magazines from 1850.
Modernism Lab at Yale University
A collaborative site featuring the work of scholars and students who are researching modernism. Includes a wiki and links to external sites; digital images of works from the Beinecke will be added in the future.
Modernist Journals Project
(1890-1922) Contains table of contents information for many modernist journals and digital images of Blast
and New Age
. Also includes some related e-books and essays, an artist database, and a Periodical Directory: 1890-1922
. From Brown University and the University of Tulsa.
Modernist Magazines Project
From De Montfort University, Leicester, U.K.
Includes an index to a growing list of little magazines, including BLAST, Coterie, The Enemy, and Form.
Pulp Magazines Project: An Archive of All-Fiction Pulpwood Magazines from 1896 to 1946
A digital archive of issues from over 60 titles from the U.S., U.K., and Australia. These pulp fiction magazines were very popular and very successful.
Guides, bibliographies, & background information
Looking for information about specific little magazines? Consult one of the following or ask a librarian for help.
Looking for information about popular, mass-market magazines? Consult the bibliographies and guides for 20th century popular magazines.
African-American Newspapers and Periodicals: A National Bibliography
Ed. James P. Danky. Cambridge, MA: Harvard UP, 1998.
Reference Stacks PN4882.5 .A3470 1998
American Literary Magazines: The Eighteenth and Nineteenth Centuries
Ed. Edward Chielens. New York: Greenwood, 1986.
Reference Stacks PS201 .A430 1986
American Literary Magazines: The Twentieth Century
Ed. Edward E. Chielens. Westport: Greenwood, 1992.
Reference Stacks PS221 .A6470 1992
Anarchist Periodicals in English Published in the United States (1833-1955): An Annotated Guide
Ernesto A. Longa. Lanham: Scarecrow, 2010.
Reference Stacks Z7164 .A52 L66 2010
Black Journals of the United States
Walter C. Daniel. Westport: Greenwood, 1982.
Reference Stacks PN4882.5 .D36 1982
British Literary Magazines: The Modern Age, 1914-1984
Ed. Alvin Sullivan. Westport: Greenwood, 1986.
Reference Stacks PN5124.L6 B74
British Literary Magazines: The Victorian and Edwardian Age, 1837-1913
Ed. Alvin Sullivan. Westport: Greenwood, 1984.
Reference Stacks PN5124.L6 B74
British Poetry Magazines, 1914-2000: A History and Bibliography of 'Little Magazines'
Comp. David Miller and Richard Price. New Castle, DE: Oak Knoll, 2006.
Reference Stacks Z2014 .P7 B758 2006
English Literary Journals, 1900-1950: A Guide to Information Sources
Michael N. Stanton. Detroit, MI: Gale, 1982.
Reference Stacks PR1 .S7520 1982
The Literary Journal in America, 1900-1950: A Guide to Information Sources
Ed. Edward E. Chielens. Detroit, MI: Gale, 1977.
Reference R 016.8 C533L, 1900-50
Note: chapter 4 (pp. 69-105) lists general works about little magazines as well as studies of individual magazines.
The Little Magazine: A History and a Bibliography
Frederick J. Hoffman, Charles Allan, and Carolyn F. Ulrich. 2nd ed. Princeton: Princeton UP, 1947.
Reference Stacks PN4836 H64 1947
Literary Magazines: Contempo, Munsey's Magazine, The Century Magazine, The Messenger Magazine, Virginia Quarterly Review, Liwayway, 32 Poems
Memphis: Books LLC, 2010.
Reference Stacks Z6513 .L58 2010
Propaganda & Aesthetics: the Literary Politcs of African-American Magazines in the Twentieth-Century
Abby Arthur Johnson & Ronald Maberry Johnson. Amherst, MA: Univ. of Massachusetts P, 1991.
Main Library Stacks PS153.N5 J6 1991
Note: contains a useful bibliography of African-American periodicals as well as secondary sources about them.
Radical Periodicals in America, 1890-1950, with a Genealogical Chart and a Concise Lexicon of the Parties and Groups which Issued Them
Walter Goldwater. New Haven: Yale UP, 1966.
Reference Stacks HX40 .G65 1966
Waterloo Directory of English newspapers and periodicals, 1800-1900
John S North and Brent Nelson. 20 vols. Waterloo, Ont.: North Waterloo Academic Press, 2003.
Reference Stacks Z6956 .E5 W37
Ask a Librarian
Stop by the information desk
Questions? Need help? Ask a Librarian
Davidson College Library, Box 7200, 209 Ridge Rd., Davidson, NC 28035-7200
All box-title icons from Entypo pictograms by Daniel Bruce — www.entypo.com