Research Guides: Little Magazines: Find 20th Century Newspapers

Davidson newspapers

Davidsonian
The Davidsonian began publication on March 18, 1914 when the student body voted on and approved the creation of a collegiate newspaper that would report on campus and local community events and issues. The paper contains photographs, advertisements, articles, and opinion pieces relevant to significant college events and student life.

Davidson, NC Newspapers
(1883-1958) Digital facsimiles of historical newspapers from the town of Davidson. From the Davidson College Archives.

20th century newspaper collections: United States

Accessible Archives
Search Nineteenth Century newspapers across the following collections:
African American Newspapers: The 19th Century, The Civil War: A Newspaper Perspective, The Liberator, and Godey's Lady's Book.
America's Historical Newspapers
Database of newspapers including African American Newspapers (1827-1998), Caribbean Newspapers (1718-1876), Early American Newspapers (1690-1922), Hispanic American Newspapers (1808-1980).
Part of the Archive of Americana.
Historical Newspapers
Includes full-text coverage of US newspapers listed below, with the earliest starting in the late 19th century and many continuing through the 20th century.
Davidson has purchased perpetual access to:
The Atlanta Constitution (1868-1945)
Atlanta Daily World (1931-2010)
The Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988)
Chicago Defender (1909-2010)
Chinese Newspapers Collection (1832 - 1953)
Cleveland Call and Post (1934-1991)
Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005)
New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993)
The New York Times with Index (1851-2020)
Norfolk Journal and Guide (1916-2010)
Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2001)
Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002)
The Wall Street Journal (1889-2013)
The Washington Post (1877-2008)

20th century newspaper collections: International

Financial Times Historical Archive 1888-2010
Digital facsimiles of The Financial Times [London]; the full text of the newspaper, including all articles, advertisements, and other content, is completely keyword-searchable.
Illustrated London News Historical Archive: 1842-2003
(1842-2003) Full-color, digital facsimiles of pages from The Illustrated London News, the first pictorial weekly newspaper. The full text, including all articles, advertisements, and other content, is completely keyword-searchable.
Part of Gale Primary Sources
Latin American Newspapers Series 1 and 2, 1805-1922
Coverage of the people, issues and events that shaped this vital region during the 19th and early 20th centuries.
The library was able to acquire the content in this database thanks to a generous gift from Mrs. Laura Landoe, a Davidson parent; we thank her for her support.
The Times Digital Archive 1785-2019
First published in 1785, The Times of London is widely considered to be the world's 'newspaper of record'. The Times Digital Archive allows users to search over 200 years of this invaluable historical source.
Part of Gale Primary Sources
The Davidson College Library acquired this database thanks to generous support from The Malcolm Lester Library Development Fund.

20th Century Newspapers in Little Library

To find the current location of the microfilm for a newspaper listed below, search the Library Catalog.

Unless otherwise indicated, the following newspapers are English-language.

Atlanta Journal and Constitution
Place of publication: Atlanta, GA
Format:
- Microfilm
  Library has: 1868-2001
- Online
  - 1991 to present: LexisNexis Academic
Note: the library has an index for the years 1983-2003 (Reference Index Area R 070 A881).
Charlotte Observer
Place of publication: Charlotte, NC
Format:
- Microfilm
  Library has: 1897 to present
Chicago Defender
Place of publication: Chicago
Library has: 1909-1980
Format: microfilm
The Christian Science Monitor
Place of publication: Boston
Format:
- Microfilm
  Library has: 1954 to present
- Online
  - 1980 to present: LexisNexis (Guided News Search: General News / Major Papers)
Note: the library has an index for the years 1954-1992 (Reference Index Area R 070 C555).
Davidsonian
Place of publication: Davidson, NC
Format:
- Microfilm
  Library has: 1914-2006
- Online
  Library has: 1914-2006
- Paper
  Library has: 1914 to present
Frankfurter Allgemeine
Place of publication: Frankfurt, Germany
Language: German
Library has: 1974-1995
Format: microfilm
Los Angeles Times
Place of publication: Los Angeles
Library has: 1 Jan. 1982 - 15 April 2006
Format: microfilm
Mexican Herald
Place of publication: Mexico City, Mexico
Library has: 1895-1915
Format: microfilm
Negro World
Place of publication: New York
Library has: 1921-1933 [incomplete]
Format: microfilm
New York Age
Place of publication: New York
Library has: 1886-1953
Format: microfilm
New York Amsterdam News
Place of publication: New York
Library has: 1922-1926
Format: microfilm
New York Times
Place of publication: New York
Library has: 1851 to present
Format:
- Microfilm
  - 1851 to present
- Online
  - 1851-2007: Historical Newspapers: The New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post
  - June 1980 to present: LexisNexis
- Paper
  - Most recent 2-3 months
Note: the library has a print index for the years 1851 to present (Reference Index Area R 071 N53). We also have the personal name index (Reference Index Area R 071 N53p).
New York Tribune
Place of publication: New York
Library has: 10 April 1866 - 31 December 1924
Format: microfilm
Note: the New York Tribune merged with New York Herald in 1920 to form New York Herald, New York Tribune
News & Observer
Place of publication: Raleigh, NC
Format:
- Microfilm
  Library has: 1877-1977, 1994 - March 2006
Note: the library has an index to the years 1967-1980 (Reference Index Area R 071 N5581).
North China Herald
Place of publication: Shanghai, China
Library has: 1850-1941
Format: microfilm
Richmond Times-Dispatch
Place of publication: Richmond, VA
Format:
- Microfilm
  Library has: 1852 - 30 April 2006
- Online
  - 1 Nov. 1995 to present: LexisNexis
San Francisco Chronicle
Place of publication: San Francisco, CA
Format:
- Microfilm
  Library has 1865-1909
- Online
  - October 1989 to present: LexisNexis
Le Temps
Place of publication: Paris
Language: French
Library has: 1884-1920
Format: microfilm
The Times [London]
Place of publication: London
Format:
- Microfilm
  Library has: 1785 to present
- Online
  - July 1985 to present: LexisNexis
Note: the library has an index to the years 1785 to present (Reference Index Area R 070 T58).
The Village Voice
Place of publication: New York
Library has: 1955 to present
Format: microfilm
The Wall St. Journal
Place of publication: New York
Format:
- Microfilm
  Library has: 1961 to present
- Online
  - 1889-1993: Historical Newspapers: New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post
  - 1989 to present: Wall Street Journal Index
Note: the library has an index to the years 1961-2003 (Reference Index Area R 071 W187).
The Washington Post
Place of publication: Washington, DC
Format:
- Microfilm
  Library has: 1877 to present
- Online
  - 1877-1994: Historical Newspapers: New York Times, Washington Post, and Wall Street Journal
  - 1977 to present: LexisNexis
Note: the library has an index to the years 1971-2005 (Reference Index Area R 071 N53).
Die Zeit
Place of publication: Hamburg, Germany
Language: German
Format:
- Microfilm
  Library has: 1961 to present
- Online:
  1946 to present: Die Zeit archive

Citation management

Access Zotero Zotero Guide

Ask Us

Research Assistance
Meet with library staff.
Library Chat
Chat with us online.

Contact Information