This database includes images of art and architecture, archaeological sites, urban design, landscape & garden designs that spans the centuries and geographic locations, with an emphasis on the North American and European Countries.
To access, click "Log in using Shibboleth" and enter your Davidson credentials. At the top banner, you can enter terms into the “search” header, by clicking it. To find the Archivision items, please type Archivision + (word for your topic).
Davidson has licensed the Base Collection through Module 15, plus Art Modules A- E. These digital materials are strictly for Davidson College-related research and education purposes, such as "comment, criticism, review, analysis, and discussion". Please contact the Art Department, Julia Deal, with questions.
The Artstor Digital Library is a database of high quality images for use in the humanities.
Images are also accessible through the JSTOR platform. Spring 2024 this database will relocate to the "J" page and accessible through JSTOR.
Explore over 30 centuries of design online, from ancient Roman marble to Pre-Columbian textiles, Renaissance drawings, contemporary 3D-printed chairs, and digital code. A digital collection representing Cooper Hewitt, Smithsonian Design Museum’s diverse collection, spanning thirty centuries of historic and contemporary design with new images being added all the time.
The college maintains a permanent collection of art that offers students and members of the community an opportunity to interact with and research more than 4,000 works of art spanning five centuries. Students, faculty, staff and the public can browse (no login required). Scroll down on the page for collection categories to peruse by discipline, media, and other filters.
Discover artworks, photographs, and related materials from American art museums, archives, and libraries. Links within the description bring you to the online site of the original source. DPLA search includes a Copyright Status Filter. This filter lets you search by copyright status, in order to find items that you can use, share, or modify for personal, educational, or commercial use. Select a filter category to see results that match your intended use. Search options include Browse by Topic, Exhibition, and Primary Source Sets. Lists you create exist only in the browser you use to create them. If you want to share a list, you can download it and share the file.
Google Arts & Culture features content from over 2000 leading museums and archives who have partnered with the Google Cultural Institute. Features include art searches, descriptions of artworks, links to similar works, museums, virtual tours and a platform for users to create their own galleries.
Smarthistory is a center for public art history with thousands of free videos and essays written by experts and reviewed through an open peer-review process where it is vetted by multiple scholars including those with applicable area expertise.
Smarthistory uses a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License. A citation is provided at the bottom of every Smarthistory content page.
The Metropolitan Museum of Art’s Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History presents a thematic, chronological, and geographical exploration of global art history through The Met collection. Authored by The Met’s experts, the digital publication is a reference, research, and teaching tool conceived for students and scholars of art history.
