Research Guides: Africana Studies 101: Introduction to Africana Studies: Historical Background- Library Resources

Historical Background - Library Resources

Encyclopedias

You can search for print and electronic books owned by the library and by libraries worldwide by searching in the library catalog:

To learn about how to locate books within the library, please see our Book Locations in the Library guide.

Africa and the Americas by Richard Juang (Editor); Noelle Morrissette (Editor)
ISBN: 1281376469

Publication Date: 2008-01-01

This encyclopedia explores the many long-standing influences of Africa and people of African descent on the culture of the Americas, while tracing the many ways in which the Americas remain closely interconnected with Africa.
The encyclopedia of African-American heritage by Susan Altman
Publication Date: 1997

Databases

In this box, you will find a selection of databases containing primary and secondary source materials. For more databases, please see our A - Z Databases guide for a complete listing of the library's offerings.

Archive of Americana
Historical collections that contain books, pamphlets, broadsides, newspapers, government documents and ephemera printed in America over centuries.
Enslaved: Peoples of the Historical Slave Trade
Content focuses on slavery from Africa across the Atlantic and Indian Oceans, from the origins of transoceanic slavery through the emancipation generation. In conjunction with The "Journal of Slavery and Data Preservation" a digital academic journal that publishes original, peer-reviewed datasets about the lives of enslaved Africans and their descendants drawn from documents produced from the fifteenth to the early twentieth-centuries.
Gale Primary Sources
Search across all Gale primary source collections.
Includes:
• 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection
• 19th Century UK Periodicals
• American Fiction, 1774-1920
• Archives Unbound
• Archives of Sexuality & Gender
• Associated Press Collections Online
• Brazilian and Portuguese History and Culture
• British Library Newspapers
• China from Empire to Republic
• Crime, Punishment, and Popular Culture 1790-1920
• Daily Mail Historical Archive, 1896-2004
• Eighteenth Century Collections Online
• Indigenous Peoples: North America
• Liberty Magazine Historical Archive, 1924-1950
• Nineteenth Century Collections Online
• Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers
• Picture Post Historical Archive, 1938-1957
• Punch Historical Archive, 1841-1992
• Sabin Americana, 1500-1926
• Smithsonian Collections Online
• The Economist Historical Archive, 1843-2012
• The Financial Times Historical Archive, 1888-2010
• The Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003
• The Independent Digital Archive, 1986-2012
• The Listener Historical Archive 1929-1991
• The Making of Modern Law: Foreign Primary Sources
• The Making of Modern Law: Foreign, Comparative and International Law, 1600-1926
• The Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises, 1800-1926
• The Making of Modern Law: Primary Sources
• The Making of Modern Law: Trials, 1600-1926
• The Making of the Modern World
• The Sunday Times Digital Archive, 1822-2006
• The Telegraph Historical Archive, 1855-2000
• The Times Digital Archive, 1822-2021
• Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive, 1902-2019
• U.S. Declassified Documents Online
Oxford Reference
Oxford Reference contains short-entry and general reference to more in-depth articles on specialized subjects from entries across Oxford University Press’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias.
While we do not have access to all of the titles in the full collection, the default search covers the titles that Davidson owns.

Subject Guides

Databases, online resources, course guides, and more, grouped by subject. Subjects reflect Davidson's academic majors and programs.