Africana Studies 101: Introduction to Africana Studies

Contents of this Guide

Issues of the Davidson Journal containing reflections from Black students and alumni about the Black experience at Davidson.

(Left: Fall 1990; Right: Fall 1996)

​​​​​​This guide is designed as a starting point for research in Africana Studies 101: Introduction to Africana Studies and Archives, Special Collections & Community. This guide highlights archival and manuscript collections related to Davidson College and the Town of Davidson related to discussions of diversity, race, and Blackness. This guide is organized by topic, including:

Materials listed on the 19th Century College Resources, 20th Century College Resources, and 19th and 20th Century Community History Resources pages can also be found listed on the Google Sheet provided to the AFR 101 class. For your class assignment, you will choose from among the primary sources listed here and write a short paper that analyzes how these sources relate to the discipline of Africana Studies. 

Additional content on this guide includes general library and archival resources to assist in contextualization of primary sources. For questions and more information about materials and listed in this guide, please email archives@davidson.edu.

Advisory Statement

This site contains materials originally published in yearbooks, newspapers, and other Davidson College publications. You may encounter upsetting racist, oppressive, and outdated representations in these documents. They are included for historical accuracy and do not represent the views of the current Davidson College community, which honors the dignity of all persons and commits itself to a quest for truth and the building of a more just and humane future. The Archives, Special Collections, & Community staff acknowledges the need to provide additional context and continually strives in its work to use terms and representations that reflect the ways communities describes themselves today.