Search across most EbscoHost article databases as well as the Ebsco e-book collection; interdisciplinary in scope. Note: this search excludes America: History & Life, Historical Abstracts, and L'Année philologique.
--Academic Search Complete
--Applied Science & Business Periodicals Retrospective: 1913-1983
--Art Full Text
--Art Index Retrospective
--ATLA Religion Database
--Biography Index Retrospective: 1946-1983
--Biography Reference Bank
--Book Review Digest Plus
--Book Review Digest Retrospective: 1903-1982
--Communication & Mass Media Complete
--Essay and General Literature Retrospective
--Education Index Retrospective: 1929-1983
--Film & Television Literature Index
--Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984
--Index to Legal Periodicals & Books Full Text
--Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts
--Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective: 1908-1981
--International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text
--MLA International Bibliography
--OmniFile Full Text Mega
--Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982
--RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
--Short Story Index Retrospective: 1915-1983
Full text archive of the back issues of major scholarly journals. Also includes 19th Century British Pamphlets, a collection of journals, monographs, and manuscripts related to Ireland, and some current journal issues.
Now our largest collection of full-text article databases!
(c. 1800 to present) Multidisciplinary collection of full-text journal, magazine, and newspaper articles, e-books, dissertations, and more. Also contains citations to additional materials. Includes all of our ProQuest databases.
Includes the following:
-- ABI/Inform Complete
-- Accounting & Tax
--Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts (ASSIA)
--Aquatic Science & Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) 3: Aquatic Pollution & Environmental Quality
--Bacteriology Abstracts (Microbiology B)
--Banking Information Source
--BioOne Abstracts & Indexes
--Biotechnology Research Abstracts
--Canadian Newsstand Complete
--COS Conference Papers Index
--Environmental Engineering Abstracts
--Environmental Impact Statements: Digests
--Environmental Impact Statements: Full Text
--Health & Safety Science Abstracts
--Hoover's Company Profiles
--Industrial and Applied Microbiology Abstracts (Microbiology A)
--Library and Information Science Abstracts (LISA)
--Periodicals Archive Online
--Periodicals Index Online
--Physical Education Index
--PILOTS: Published International Literature on Traumatic Stress
--ProQuest Asian Business & Reference
--ProQuest Biology Journals
--ProQuest Career and Technical Education
--ProQuest Criminal Justice
--ProQuest Deep Indexing: Environmental Sciences
--ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full Text
--ProQuest Education Journals
--ProQuest Environmental Science Collection
--ProQuest Environmental Science Journals
--ProQuest European Business
--ProQuest Family Health
--ProQuest Health & Medical Complete
--ProQuest Health Management
--ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Atlanta Constitution
--ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Baltimore Afro-American
--ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times with Index
--ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Wall Street Journal
--ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Washington Post
--ProQuest Military Collection
--ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source
--ProQuest Political Science
--ProQuest Psychology Journals
--ProQuest Research Library
--ProQuest Science Journals
--ProQuest Social Science Journals
--Social Services Abstracts
--Sustainability Science Abstracts
--The Wall Street Journal
--Water Resources Abstracts
--Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
(c. 1900 to present) An interdisciplinary resource with citations to articles from over 12,000 journals and conference proceedings.
Contains: Web of Science Core Collection (1900 to present), Biosis Previews (1969 to present), Current Contents (1998 to present), Derwent Innovations Index (over 11 million patent records from 1963 to present), Medline, Zoological Record (1864 to present), and more.
Access is restricted to current faculty and staff and currently-enrolled students of Davidson College only.
New / Trial Databases
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Focusing predominantly on Atlanta, Chicago, St. Louis, New York, and towns and cities in North Carolina this resource presents multiple aspects of the African American community through pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals, correspondence, official records, reports and in-depth oral histories, revealing the prevalent challenges of racism, discrimination and integration, and a unique African American culture and identity.
Featuring titles from Algeria to Angola, Zambia to Zimbabwe, this unique resource chronicles the evolution of Africa through eyewitness reporting, editorials, legislative information, letters, poetry, advertisements, obituaries and other items.
With material drawn from hundreds of institutions and organizations, including both major international activist organizations and local, grassroots groups, the documents in the Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture since 1940 present important aspects of LGBTQ life in the second half of the twentieth century and beyond.
The archive illuminates the experiences not just of the LGBTQ community as a whole, but of individuals of different races, ethnicities, ages, religions, political orientations, and geographical locations that constitute this community. Historical records of political and social organizations founded by LGBTQ individuals are featured, as well as publications by and for lesbians and gays, and extensive coverage of governmental responses to the AIDS crisis. The archive also contains personal correspondence and interviews with numerous LGBTQ individuals, among others. The archive includes gay and lesbian newspapers from more than 35 countries, reports, policy statements, and other documents related to gay rights and health, including the worldwide impact of AIDS, materials tracing LGBTQ activism in Britain from 1950 through 1980, and more.
China from Empire to Republic: Missionary, Sinology, and Literary Periodicals is a collection of 17 English-language periodicals published in or about China during a period of over 130 years, extending from 1817 until the founding of the People’s Republic of China in 1949. This corresponds to the periods of the late Qing Dynasty and the Republican Era (1911–1949), when China experienced the radical and often traumatic transformation from an inward-looking imperial dynasty into a globally engaged republic.
Explore a vast collection of US and international statistics in Data-Planet Statistical Datasets. You can scan and search the contents of billions of datasets, compare and contrast variables of interest, and create customized views in tables, maps, rankings, and charts. Views also include descriptive summaries of the datasets and data sources. Datasets cover a wide range of subjects – including business, finance, banking, economics, sociology, political science, demography, agriculture, education, international studies, criminal justice, housing and construction, labor and employment, energy resources and industries, and more. Sources include public, private/commercial, and nongovernmental organizations.
Provides access to a vast body of original British source material that will enrich the teaching and research experience of those studying history, literature, sociology and education from a gendered perspective
Early Arabic Printed Books from the British Library (1475-1900) is the first full-text searchable digital library of early printed books in Arabic script. Covering religious literature, law, science, mathematics, astrology, alchemy, medicine, geography, travel, history, chronicles, and literature, and including European translations of Arabic works and Arabic translations of European books, it exemplifies the long exchange of ideas and learning between Europe and the Arabic-speaking world.
Early Arabic Printed Books from the British Library has been divided into three subject modules; however libraries with all three modules will have access to one seamless collection.
Module 1: Religion and Law
The Qu'ran, traditions (Hadith), tafsir, theology, commentaries on religious texts, religious teaching and practice, biographies of religious figures; law, fiqh and statutes, fatwas and rulings
Module 2: Sciences, History, and Geography
Natural history, medicine, physiology, other science, classical sciences, philosophy, logic, politics, ethics, mathematics, arithmetic, geometry, mechanics, astrology, chemistry; history, early caliphs and conquests, modern history, genealogy, biographies; geography and travel, regional geography, and topography
Module 3: Periodicals, Literature, Grammar, Language, Catalogues and General Works
Periodicals, folktales, pre-Islamic literature (Antar, Bani Hilal, Imru'l qays), Islamic poetry and prose (al-Burdah), poetry and prose (maqamat), Kalilah wa-dimnah, Luqman, proverbs and sayings, Thousand and one nights, later literature, poetry and prose, general literature; language and lexicography, dictionaries, grammar, syntax, rhetoric, 'ilm al-bayan, catalogues, manuscript catalogues, etc.
The International Bibliography of Humanism and the Renaissance (IBHR) is an international reference bibliography of academic publications covering the early modern period. The IBHR, which was formerly published by the Librairie Droz as Bibliographie Internationale de l’Humanisme et de la Renaissance, has recently been acquired by Brepols Publishers. It is an annual bibliography of citations to books and articles in various areas of study on early modern European history (1500- 1700), including literature, philosophy, history, religion, the arts, economics, political science, law, and the sciences and technology.
A Washington, D.C. based publication dedicated to expanding the reach of news coverage and analysis produced by Latin American media, Latin American News Digest aggregates the news of the Latin American media.
Issues appear weekly, with the exception of July, Thanksgiving break and December. Material from these periods appears in expanded, subsequent issues.
An archive of music journalism with over 25,000 articles about rock—and more—from both the musical and mainstream presses published from 1960 to the present. Material includes feature articles, reviews, interviews, and more than 400 audio files.
Bringing together primary source documents from archives and libraries across the Atlantic world, this resource allows students and researchers to explore and compare unique material relating to the complex subjects of slavery, abolition and social justice.In addition to the primary source documents there is a wealth of useful secondary sources for research and teaching; including an interactive map, scholarly essays, tutorials, a visual sources gallery, chronology and bibliography. Register for My Archive and save your favourite documents, search results and images to your personal collection area.
State Papers Online offers original historical materials across the widest range of government concerns, from high level international politics and diplomacy to the charges against a steward for poisoning a dozen or more people. The correspondence, reports, memoranda, and parliamentary drafts from ambassadors, civil servants and provincial administrators present a full picture of Britain from the period of Henry VIII to the reign of George III.
The Telegraph Historical Archive, 1855-2000 has over 1 million pages of content and includes the Sunday edition from its inception in 1961. The archive offers a fundamental insight into domestic and international affairs and culture over a timespan of almost 150 years.
An archival research resource comprising the full backfiles of leading women’s interest consumer magazines. Titles are scanned from cover to cover in high-resolution color and feature detailed article-level indexing. Coverage ranges from the late-19th century through to 2005 and these key primary sources permit the examination of the events, trends, and attitudes of this period. Among the research fields served by this material are gender studies, social history, economics/marketing, media, fashion, politics, and popular culture.
Women’s Studies International, produced by NISC, covers the core disciplines in Women’s Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. Coverage includes more than 871,000 records and spans from 1972 and earlier to present. This database supports curriculum development in the areas of sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education. Over 2,000 periodical sources are represented.