This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Videos" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Videos  

How to find streaming videos and DVDs, create playlists and clips, and more
Last Updated: May 12, 2014 URL: http://davidson.libguides.com/videos Print Guide RSS Updates

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 

Contents of this guide

This guide provides tips, tools, and techniques for finding videos, creating clips and playlists, and linking to videos.

Tip sheets for:

 

More research guides

Is your work multi-disciplinary? Consult one of our other subject guides too.

 

Davidson Library WorldCat: Video Search

Start your search for videos here! Davidson Library WorldCat lists most of our DVD and streaming video titles.

You can also find videos that may be available through interlibrary loan; just change the drop-down menu to "Libraries Worldwide."

Local Search Box Iframe

 

Need help? See how to find videos in Davidson Library WorldCat [video tutorial].

More videos

  • Alexander Street Press  
      
    A collection of over 25,000 streaming videos and over 900,000 audio tracks; searches across all of the library's Alexander Street Press audio and video products. Interdisciplinary in scope.
    Note: for best results, use Chrome, Internet Explorer, or Safari..
  • Ambrose Video  
      
    Over 70 streaming videos. Includes the complete BBC Shakespeare Plays, The Ascent of Man, The Long Search, and Childhood.
  • Films on Demand: Master Academic Collection  
      
    Over 15,000 streaming videos with nearly 100,000 video clips; the titles are educational in nature and cover a wide variety of topics in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Also include over 680 archival films and newsreels.
  • NC LIVE Video Collection  
      
    A streaming video collection of over 500 educational and documentary programs produced for the Public Broadcasting Corporation (PBS). Includes selected episodes from "American Experience" and "Frontline," Ken Burns's "Civil War" and "Jazz," and much more.
  • TV News  
      
    (2009 to present) Indexes and provides short clips of over 350,000 news programs from national U.S. networks as well as television stations in San Francisco and Washington, D.C. Information and clips are added 24 hours after they are aired. From the Internet Archive.
  • Vanderbilt Television News Archive  
      
    (c. August 1968 to present) A catalog of U.S. television news broadcasts, with streaming video for NBC nightly news broadcasts (Aug. 1968 to present) and CNN broadcasts (1995 to present).
 

Questions? Need help?

Ask a Librarian!

 

Research Services:

Online Research Direction

Self-guided access to our subject guides, online tutorials, and online resources.

Peer Research Advising

Personal instruction from a Peer Research Advisor at the information desk. 

Research Librarian Guidance

Personal instruction from a Research Librarian. 

Research Rescue

Personal instruction in a group setting from Peer Research Advisors and Research Librarians in the Fishbowl. 

Scheduled Consultations

Dedicated and in-depth personal instruction from a Research Librarian.

Note: If you are not affiliated with the college, research help may be limited. We can always help with U.S. Government information, federal government documents on deposit in our library, and materials that are unique to Davidson College.

Questions? Need help? Ask a Librarian
Davidson College Library, Box 7200, 209 Ridge Rd., Davidson, NC 28035-7200

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip