Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Memory Commons

A research guide curating archival and special collections materials related to community commemorations, protests, memorials, and reflective spaces for the Spring 2021 Memory Commons course.

Old Chambers

Archival Records:

Cover of fall 1990 edition of the Davidson Journal titled The Black Experience at Davidson CollegeDavidson Journal: The Davidson Journal was first published in the spring of 1987 at the College's sesquicentennial celebration alongside the Davidson Update (which was a spin-off of the Alumni Journal). It merged with the Davidson Update after the fourth issue in the fall of 1989. 

Archives, Special Collections & Community Websites:

Davidson Encyclopedia: These entries about Davidson College history are researched and written by archives staff and by Davidson College students. The list of articles is organized alphabetically.

Davidsoniana Files:

The Archives, Special Collections & Community department holds several d-files related to Old Chambers including: "Chambers Building - 1858 - 1921 - Architect - A.J. Davis," "Chambers Building - 1860 - 1921," "Chambers Fire - November 28, 1921," and "Chambers - Skeleton Stories - 1858 - 1921." 

New Chambers Dedication

Archival Records:

Cover of fall 1990 edition of the Davidson Journal titled The Black Experience at Davidson CollegeDavidson Journal: The Davidson Journal was first published in the spring of 1987 at the College's sesquicentennial celebration alongside the Davidson Update (which was a spin-off of the Alumni Journal). It merged with the Davidson Update after the fourth issue in the fall of 1989. 

Archives, Special Collections & Community Websites:

Davidson Encyclopedia: These entries about Davidson College history are researched and written by archives staff and by Davidson College students. The list of articles is organized alphabetically.

Davidsoniana Files:

The Archives, Special Collections & Community department holds several d-files related to New Chambers including: "The Ghost of Old Chambers," "Buildings - Chambers - 2004 Dedication," "Chambers Building - 1924 - 1929," "Chambers Building - 1924 - 1929 - Construction and Dedication," "Chambers Building - 1924 - 1929 - Paintings of Chambers Building," "Chambers Building - 1924 - 1929 - Rooms, Basement," "Chambers Building - 1924 - 1929 - Rooms, E.L. Baxter Davidson Room," "Chambers Building - 1924 - 1929 - Rooms, Language Lab," "Chambers Building - 1924 - 1929 - Rooms, Memorial Rooms," "Chambers Building - 1924 - 1929 - Rooms, Perkins Auditorium," "Chambers Building - 1924 - 1929 - Rooms, Spencer Love Auditorium." 

Maxwell Chambers

Archival Records:

Cover of fall 1990 edition of the Davidson Journal titled The Black Experience at Davidson CollegeDavidson Journal: The Davidson Journal was first published in the spring of 1987 at the College's sesquicentennial celebration alongside the Davidson Update (which was a spin-off of the Alumni Journal). It merged with the Davidson Update after the fourth issue in the fall of 1989. 

Archives, Special Collections & Community Websites:

Davidson Encyclopedia: These entries about Davidson College history are researched and written by archives staff and by Davidson College students. The list of articles is organized alphabetically.

Davidsoniana Files:

The Archives, Special Collections & Community department holds several d-files related to Maxwell Chambers including "Benefactors - Chambers, Maxwell."

Questions? Need help? Ask Us
Davidson College Library, Box 7200, 209 Ridge Rd., Davidson, NC 28035-7200
Creative Commons license logo for CC by-sa 4.0
This Davidson College Library Research Guides are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.
All box-title icons from Entypo pictograms by Daniel Bruce — www.entypo.com