History 306: Women and Gender in U.S. History to 1870: Primary Sources by Format
A guide of archival and special collections materials related to the history of women in the U.S., specifically in the Town of Davidson and at Davidson College, including resources relevant to race, class and religion. Dr. Rose Stremlau, Fall 2019.
Although the town of Davidson was incorporated in 1879, it did not have a newspaper until 1883. For two brief years, The Weekly Entereprise, later named the Davidson College Enterprise provided news, humor and advertising for the town. The editor of the paper, Robert Gordon Sparrow was just 15 when he started the paper. His editorship and the run of the paper ended when Sparrow entered Davidson College as a student in the fall of 1884.
While only 7 issues of the paper remain today, they provide a useful window into the town’s past. Articles cover local elections, a small crime spree, and college events.
Research Charlotte history through the Charlotte Observer Collection with coverage from 1852 through current. Study trends, issues, events, advertisements, companies and more through historical and current full newspaper pages, full-text articles and content only published online.
African American Newspapers, Series 1 and 2, 1827-1998, provides online access to more than 350 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African-American experience. This unique collection, which includes historically significant papers from more than 35 states, features many rare 19th-century titles. Coverage spans life in the Antebellum South; the spread of abolitionism; growth of the Black church; the Emancipation Proclamation; the Jim Crow Era; the Great Migration to northern cities, the West and Midwest in search of greater opportunity; rise of the NAACP; the Harlem Renaissance; the civil rights movement; political and economic empowerment; and more.
Part of the America’s Historical Newspapers collection and the Archive of Americana.
(c. 1827 - 1893) The full text of selected nineteenth-century, African-American newspapers, including: the Freedom's Journal, Colored American, The North Star, Frederick Douglass Papers, National Era, Provincial Freeman, and The Christian Recorder.
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers provides an as-it-happened window on events, culture, and daily life in nineteenth-century America that is of interest to both professional and general researchers. With 1.8 million pages available, the collection features publications of all kinds, from the political party newspapers at the beginning of the nineteenth century to the mammoth dailies that shaped the nation at the century's end. Major newspapers stand alongside those published by African Americans, Native Americans, women’s rights groups, labor groups, and the Confederacy. Part of Gale Primary Sources
Newspaper titles include:
New York Herald (NY)
Lynchburg Virginian (VA)
Pacific Commercial Advertiser (HI)
Rocky Mountain News (CO)
Southern Illustrated News (VA)
Daily Inter Ocean (Chicago)
Milwaukee Sentinel (WI)
The Bee (OH)
The Mountaineer (SC)
(c. 1827-1902) Selected full-text, nineteenth-century periodicals.
The library subscribes to: African American Newspapers: The 19th Century, The Civil War: A Newspaper Perspective, The Liberator, and Godey's Lady's Book.
(1825-1995) Over 170 periodicals by and about African Americans; includes magazines, academic and political journals, institutional newsletters, organizations' bulletins, and more. Beyond offering opinions on issues and events of the day, the rare titles in African American Periodicals capture the voice of African American society and culture.
This collection provides a history of the American people and a testament to the growth of the nation from the colonial period through to the twentieth century. The collection offers multiple perspectives on the thought, culture, and society of North America through the eyes of those who lived it.
This database contains periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals. The collection draws from the American Periodicals Series Online and American Periodicals from the Center for Research Libraries. Generously funded for by the Mellon Grant.
(1750-1950) Digital facsimiles of manuscript letters and diaries written by American women; these women were from New England families, but many travelled widely.
Robert Hall Morrison was the first president of Davidson College. Typescripts of his letters are available online through this finding aid, several of which describe health issues in the town of Davidson, relations with enslaved persons, politics, and plantation transactions.
The Latta and Sample families - both heavily involved during the early years of Davidson College - occupied the Latta Plantation home in Mecklenburg County. These digitized materials highlight daily activities on the property, and routinely reference an enslaved woman named "Suckey."
The digitized materials in this collection, particularly those found under Series 2, reveal details about daily life on the Rural Hill, Ingleside, and Dixon Plantations in and around Mecklenburg County, North Carolina.
Covers business records (ledgers, accounting books, receipts, and work rules) and personal papers (diaries, correspondences, and wills) from plantations in the American South. Part of ProQuest History Vault.
A listing of digitized resources found in the University of North Carolina at Charlotte Archives & Special Collections, including plantation records, civic organizations, civil rights documentation, and oral histories.
A collection of primary sources on Southern history, culture, and literature from the colonial period through the early twentieth century. Includes diaries, first-person narratives, literary works, photographs, and other materials. From the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.
A rich collection of primary sources related to U.S. history and culture; materials are drawn from the Library of Congress and other research libraries. Includes digitized manuscripts, government documents, pamphlets, and books as well as photographs, prints, maps, sheet music, video clips, and sound files.
This collection is public domain and are not protected by copyright
A portal to digital collections from American libraries, museums, and archives. Includes primary sources ranging from Exploration of the Americas to topics including Civil Rights and Women's Suffrage. Digital Exhibitions include stories of national significance drawn from source materials in libraries, archives, and museums across the United States.
The North Carolina Digital Collections contain over 90,000 historic and recent photographs, state government publications, manuscripts, and other resources on topics related to North Carolina. The Collections are free and full-text searchable, and bring together content from the State Archives of North Carolina and the State Library of North Carolina.
A resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history. Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000.
An integrated research environment that allows users to search across all of their Gale primary source collections. Through intuitive subject-indexing users will discover new material even in the most familiar of content sets. Includes digital facsimiles of books, manuscripts, some newspapers, photographs, and more.
Includes:
• 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection
• 19th Century UK Periodicals
• American Fiction, 1774-1920
• Archives Unbound
• Archives of Sexuality & Gender
• Associated Press Collections Online
• Brazilian and Portuguese History and Culture
• British Library Newspapers
• China from Empire to Republic
• Crime, Punishment, and Popular Culture 1790-1920
• Daily Mail Historical Archive, 1896-2004
• Eighteenth Century Collections Online
• Indigenous Peoples: North America
• Liberty Magazine Historical Archive, 1924-1950
• Nineteenth Century Collections Online
• Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers
• Picture Post Historical Archive, 1938-1957
• Punch Historical Archive, 1841-1992
• Sabin Americana, 1500-1926
• Smithsonian Collections Online
• The Economist Historical Archive, 1843-2012
• The Financial Times Historical Archive, 1888-2010
• The Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003
• The Independent Digital Archive, 1986-2012
• The Listener Historical Archive 1929-1991
• The Making of Modern Law: Foreign Primary Sources
• The Making of Modern Law: Foreign, Comparative and International Law, 1600-1926
• The Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises, 1800-1926
• The Making of Modern Law: Primary Sources
• The Making of Modern Law: Trials, 1600-1926
• The Making of the Modern World
• The Sunday Times Digital Archive, 1822-2006
• The Telegraph Historical Archive, 1855-2000
• The Times Digital Archive, 1822-2021
• Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive, 1902-2019
• U.S. Declassified Documents Online
(c.1730-1916) Digital collection of primary sources from the long nineteenth century. The content is sourced from the world's preeminent libraries and archives. It consists of monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, photographs, statistics, and other kinds of documents in both Western and non-Western languages.
Contains the following collections: Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange; British Politics and Society; British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture; European Literature, 1790-1840: The Covey Collection; Europe and Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, and Conquest; Photography: The World Through the Lens; Science, Technology and Medicine, 1780-1925; Women: Transnational Networks.
