Research Guides: History 306: Women and Gender in U.S. History to 1870: Women and Social Norms

Davidson College Primary Sources

The following materials are located in the Davidson College Archives & Special Collections. Collections are linked below: some may be viewed online and some are only viewable in person in the College Archives.

College Letters
This site contains digital versions and typescripts of letters on a variety of subjects.
President Blake, Records, 1870-1884 (RG 2-1-6)
Rennie Blake, 1825-1900, was born in Greenwood, SC. Before coming to Davidson College, he taught at the Presbyterian Female School in Greensboro, GA and LaGrange Synodical College, TN. Elected professor of Natural Philosophy at Davidson in 1861, Blake remained on the faculty until 1885. The collection consists of correspondence, 1870-1884.
James Thomas Ketchen Belk Collection (DC0008s)
Collection includes a Philanthropic Society speech about Female Education
"Woman's Mission," Davidson Monthly, November 1870

Davidson College Secondary Sources

The following sources can be found in the Davidson College Library and/or the Archives and Special Collections. Archivists and librarians are happy to help you locate them.

Additional Sources: Women and Social Norms

American Periodicals
This database contains periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals. The collection draws from the American Periodicals Series Online and American Periodicals from the Center for Research Libraries. Generously funded for by the Mellon Grant.
Godey's Lady's Book
(1830 - 1898) The full text of this important nineteenth-century magazine for women; includes over 18,000 illustrations and color plates.

Niles' Weekly Register (1814-1837)
A weekly 19th-century publication published in Baltimore, MD. Copies are also available in Special Collections.
Southern Presbyterian Review
See especially:
Volume 1, 1847 - 1848; Number 4: "The Glory of Woman," by the Rev. Charles Colcock Jones, D. D.

Volume 5, 1851 - 1852; Number 3: "Report on Slavery," page 38 "Hints on Female Education," by Elias Marks, M. D.
The excellence and influence of the female character : a sermon, preached in the Presbyterian Church in Murray-Street, at the request of the New-York Female Missionary Society