Skip to main content

Archives & Special Collections: Integration at Davidson

A guide containing archival and special collections material about integration and the Civil Rights Movement of the mid-20th century in and around Davidson, NC. The majority of these sources are found in Davidson College Archives & Special Collections.

Digital Projects and Digitized Sources

Digitized Materials through the Davidson College Archives & Special Collections Website:

Digitized archival resources are listed below. Click on each title to view the materials.

College Catalogs

The annual Davidson College catalog contains the official academic record of a given academic year. The catalog contains a list of trustees, faculty, and frequently students by class rank, in addition to an explanation of the official courses of study, rules, and regulations of the college.

Quips & Cranks

Quips & Cranks is the Davidson College yearbook dating back to 1895.

Davidsonian - Student Newspaper

On March 18, 1914, the Davidson College student body voted on and approved the creation of a collegiate newspaper that would report on campus and local community events and issues. Most issues are digitized and available online. The publication includes numerous articles about the integration of Davidson College, reflections on Civil Rights protests, movements, and people, and discriminatory incidents. 

Around the D - Archives & Special Collections Blog

Around the D contains several blog posts written by Archives & Special Collections staff, guest bloggers, and students that relate back to the history of integration and race relations on the Davidson College campus. Examples include: "Shared Stories," "Thereby Hangs a Tale: The Winding Path to Integration at Davidson," "MLK and Davidson," and "I Don’t See Greek: Diagnosing Blindness and Redefining Inclusivity at Davidson College."

Local History

This section of the Davidson College Archives & Special Collections main website features digital exhibits like "Always Part of the Fabric," "Shared Stories," and the "Under Lake Norman Project." These displays include digitized materials related to integration, Civil Rights, and race relations in and around Davidson, NC.

Online Exhibits:

Digitized archival resources are listed below. Click on each title to view the materials.

Women of Davidson College History Timeline

This webpage features documents and images describing women's presence in and around Davidson prior to coeducation, the introduction of coeducation at Davidson, and the experiences of the first African American female students at Davidson.

Omeka Exhibits using Archival Sources

This website highlights numerous collections featuring primary source materials from Archives & Special Collections. Selected exhibits are briefly described and linked below.

Historical Tour of Davidson: A map highlighting significant structures and places in the town of Davidson.

Documenting Davidson: Geo-tagged collections from the Archives, including several broadly connected to integration and race relations.

Local Maps: A collection of scanned maps from the twentieth century depicting neighborhoods in the town of Davidson, as well as Mecklenburg County, broadly.

Shared Stories: A collection of photographs and documents about Davidson's African American community. Several items relate to integration.

Local History

This section of the Davidson College Archives & Special Collections main website features digital exhibits like "Always Part of the Fabric," "Shared Stories," and the "Under Lake Norman Project." These displays include digitized materials related to integration, Civil Rights, and race relations in and around Davidson, NC.

Course Collaborations:

Digitized archival resources are listed below. Click on each title to view the materials.

Selected Archives & Special Collections Encyclopedia Entries

The entries in the Davidson College Encyclopedia were researched and written by students in Dr. Shireen Campbell's ENG 101W (now WRI 101) courses, as well as archives staff. Though a secondary source, a number of primary sources are also referenced or are visible in these articles. A few relevant entries include: Center for Civic Engagement, Coeducation, Extra Curricular Activities - Political and Social Justice Groups, and the Solidarity Committee.

AFR 101 Resources List

This evolving list of primary and secondary sources began as a partnership with Dr. Tracy Hucks' AFR 101 course. Since then, archives staff have continually added materials to the main document as new sources come to light through reference requests, new classes, and research. All of the items in this list can be viewed in the Rare Book Room with an appointment. If you would like to make an appointment, please email archives@davidson.edu

Questions? Need help? Ask Us
Davidson College Library, Box 7200, 209 Ridge Rd., Davidson, NC 28035-7200
Creative Commons license logo for CC by-sa 4.0
This Davidson College Library Research Guides are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.
All box-title icons from Entypo pictograms by Daniel Bruce — www.entypo.com