Skip to main content

Archives & Special Collections: Integration at Davidson

A guide containing archival and special collections material about integration and the Civil Rights Movement of the mid-20th century in and around Davidson, NC. The majority of these sources are found in Davidson College Archives & Special Collections.

Contents of this Guide

In the fall of 1962, Benoit Nzengu, became the first Black student at Davidson College. Nzengu's enrollment, along with that of another Congolese student, began the period of racial integration at Davidson. In 1964, the first African-American students enrolled. 

Publicity shot of Ben Nzengu, 1962. (Photo 26-794)

Ben Nzengu, the first Black student at Davidson (Congolese) (1962)

This guide is designed as a resource to help researchers locate archival collections and materials from Archives & Special Collections related to the period of integration at Davidson College. This guide is organized by resource type, including:

If you have any questions or are interested in viewing materials listed on this guide, please email archives@davidson.edu.

More Research Guides

Is your work interdisciplinary? Does your work involve groups or subjects not covered in this guide? Consult one of our other subject guides!

See also the A-Z list of research tools.

Questions? Need help? Ask Us
Davidson College Library, Box 7200, 209 Ridge Rd., Davidson, NC 28035-7200
Creative Commons license logo for CC by-sa 4.0
This Davidson College Library Research Guides are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.
All box-title icons from Entypo pictograms by Daniel Bruce — www.entypo.com