Skip to main content

Archives & Special Collections: Integration at Davidson

A guide containing archival and special collections material about integration and the Civil Rights Movement of the mid-20th century in and around Davidson, NC. The majority of these sources are found in Davidson College Archives & Special Collections.

Contents of this Guide

Descriptions of the resources and tabs found in this guide are listed below. 

Manuscript and Special Collections Materials

The manuscript materials listed in this section are primarily unpublished documents such as diaries, letters, speeches, and sermons. The majority of these collections are connected to alumni and faculty of the college, civic organizations in the town of Davidson, and town records. The special collections materials listed in this section are either rare publications, facsimile editions, or locally significant items - often books - available for use in the Rare Book Room. 

 

College Archives Materials

This section refers to the institutional records of Davidson College from its establishment in the 1830s to the present day, including president's office records, trustee and faculty meeting minutes, student work, and student organization records.

 

Digital Projects and Digitized Resources

The materials listed in this section are available online and primarily cover topics related to the Davidson area. Some of these items have been made available through collaborative class projects.

 

Primary Source Databases

A selection of databases and collections containing digitized, 20th century primary source materials about integration and Civil Rights beyond Davidson, available to those with a Davidson College ID through the Davidson College library.

 

More Research Guides

Is your work interdisciplinary? Does your work involve groups or subjects not covered in this guide? Consult one of our other subject guides!

See also the A-Z list of research tools.

Questions? Need help? Ask Us
Davidson College Library, Box 7200, 209 Ridge Rd., Davidson, NC 28035-7200
Creative Commons license logo for CC by-sa 4.0
This Davidson College Library Research Guides are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.
All box-title icons from Entypo pictograms by Daniel Bruce — www.entypo.com