Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archives and Special Collections

An introduction to using materials in Davidson College's Archives and Special Collections.

Citing Archival Sources

For additional examples, please visit this Citing Archival Sources page on our website. In addition to this guide, please email us at archives@davidson.edu with any citation questions you may have. The Library also has a Citing Sources Guide, available here.

The following examples demonstrate the correct format for citations for archival materials:

Archival Files:

Faculty Committee on Alcohol. Memorandum. 1 December 1965. RG 3/1.2.055. Faculty Committee on Alcohol Records. Davidson College Archives, Davidson, NC.

Manuscript Collections:

Hamilton, T.H. Letter to John W. Hamilton. 29 January 1839. DC0116s. Thomas Hamilton Letters. Davidson College Archives, Davidson College, NC.

Photographs:

Photograph of students in front of Rusk House. Photograph Collection, number 27-0031. Davidson College Archives, Davidson College, NC.

Audiovisual:

Johnston, Frontis. Interview by John Scherer. 10 February 1989.”Vietnam War at Davidson College”. Audiotape Collection, number 59. Davidson College Archives, Davidson College, NC.

Davidsoniana Files (D-Files):

Brunei, Cecil Flyer, Davidson College. 13 February, 1971. Alcohol Policy Davidsoniana file. Davidson College Archives, Davidson, NC

College Publications:

Davidson College. Quips and Cranks Vol. 1. Davidson: Davidson College, 1895.

Copyright Guide

Copyright Guide

Archives & Special Collections does not necessarily own copyright of the materials in its collection. Researchers are responsible for obtaining the appropriate permission and are responsible for conforming with the laws of libel, copyright, and literary property rights. Please refer to our Copyright Guide for further information on the intricacies of copyright and fair use. 

Questions? Need help? Ask Us
Davidson College Library, Box 7200, 209 Ridge Rd., Davidson, NC 28035-7200
Creative Commons license logo for CC by-sa 4.0
This Davidson College Library Research Guides are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.
All box-title icons from Entypo pictograms by Daniel Bruce — www.entypo.com