Skip to main content

Archives and Special Collections

An introduction to using materials in Davidson College's Archives and Special Collections.

Make an Appointment!

Archives, Special Collections & Community is happy to assist you at all stages of the research process, from deciding on a topic to citation help. For the Fall 2020 semester, reference assistance will be provided primarily via email (archives@davidson.edu) or Zoom. If you have a specific research interest or question, please email us at archives@davidson.edu and a staff member will respond to your inquiry.

Please include the following information in your initial email:

  • Name
  • Research question or topic
  • Materials interested in using
  • If you are a student, please note if your research is in connection to a course or extracurricular activity.
  • If you would like to schedule an appointment over Zoom, please include dates and times when you are available.

All services will be by appointment only. In-person access to materials will be considered on a case-by-case basis and provided when necessary, with appropriate social distancing and wearing of masks or face coverings. 

Policies and Procedures

To ensure the wellbeing of our collections, we ask that researchers abide by the following rules and regulations during an in-person visit to the Rare Book Room:

  • Researchers must sign in for each visit.

  • Only note papers and research materials are permitted at work tables (brief cases, backpacks, coats, and other items must be left in the designated area.)

  • Smoking, eating and drinking (including water bottles) are not permitted in the Reading Room.

  • Only pencils may be used when working with original materials.

  • Researchers will be allowed access to one archival box at a time.

  • Maintain the existing order of records.

  • Return all materials to the archivist when you are finished.

  • The researcher assumes full responsibility for conforming with the laws of libel, copyright, and literary property rights when quoting or publishing archival materials.

  • Due to on-campus safety protocols, researchers must wear appropriate masks or face coverings when inside campus buildings, including E.H. Little Library and the Rare Book Room. We also ask that researchers maintain social distancing when in the Rare Book Room. 

Questions? Need help? Ask Us
Davidson College Library, Box 7200, 209 Ridge Rd., Davidson, NC 28035-7200
Creative Commons license logo for CC by-sa 4.0
This Davidson College Library Research Guides are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.
All box-title icons from Entypo pictograms by Daniel Bruce — www.entypo.com