Local Public Libraries
Mooresville Public Library
Mooresville Public Library boasts a number of secondary sources, like published books, as well as a Special Collections department. Their Special Collections highlight important local figures, some of whom have influenced or were influenced by the development of Lake Norman.
Davidson Public Library
Just a quick walk from campus, the Davidson Public Library houses a number of books discussing Lake Norman. Including:
Author: Rindoks, Leslie B.
Published: 2005
Charlotte Mecklenburg Libraries: Main Branch
Situated in the heart of uptown Charlotte, the main library branch is home to the Carolina Room which houses a variety of archival and special collections material.
Author: Charlotte-Mecklenburg Planning Commission
Published: 1962
Author: Various, Mixed Material
Type: Vertical files in the Carolina Room (Special Collections)
Author: Various, Mixed Material
Type: Vertical files in the Carolina Room (Special Collections)
Author: Various, Mixed Material
Type: Vertical files in the Carolina Room (Special Collections)
Author: Various, Mixed Material
Type: Vertical files in the Carolina Room (Special Collections)
Author: Ken Brotherton
Published: 1992
Relocation Of Various Cemeteries: From Area Inundated By Waters Of Lake Norman
Author: Duke Power Company
Published: 19--?
Published: 1988
State Resources
The State Archives of North Carolina: https://archives.ncdcr.gov/
The State Archives offers a variety of sources and workshops for researchers of all backgrounds. Their Governmental Records page may offer information on the permit process for the development of Cowans Ford Dam and other Duke Power projects (like Mountain Island Lake and Lake James).
Through the State Archives website, you can also access the State Library's Digital Collections. This webpage may house digitized materials related to Lake Norman and Duke Energy.
Evolution of Dam Policies by
The World Commission on Dams (WCD) report (2000) "Dams and Development: A New Framework for Decision-Making" set a landmark in the ongoing controversy over large dams. Now that more than ten years have passed, one has to realize that the WCD norms matter. However, their real chance of becoming implemented relies on whether their core values, strategic priorities and guidelines are accepted by national decision-makers and are translated into official policies and practices. The book's major concern is whether the big hydropower states have improved their standards for environment and resettlement, and whether international standards are applied or exist only on paper. nbsp; The introductory and synthesis chapters present the methodological approach and discuss the findings. Other chapters analyze changes in dam policies in the big hydropower states Brazil, China, India and Turkey; the role of non-governmental organizations in advocating against the Turkish Ilisu Dam project on the Tigris River; the strategies of International Rivers and World Wildlife Fund for Nature in the global hydropower game; the policies of the German government and its positioning in the dam debate, and the engagement of Chinese actors in building the Bui Dam (Ghana) and the Kamchay Dam (Cambodia).
Hydropower by
Hydropower is the power derived from the energy in moving water. Hydroelectricity is created by converting the kinetic energy in moving water to mechanical energy in turbine machinery, which is then used to generate electricity. In this book, the authors present current research in the study of the types, development strategies and environmental impacts of hydropower. Topics discussed include the history and present state of global hydropower development and engineering and types of hydropower structures; and a study of hydropower as a renewable and environmentally friendly energy source.
Davidson College Library Research Guides are licensed under
CC BY-SA 4.0.
Mailing Address: Davidson College - E.H. Little Library, 209 Ridge Road, Box 5000, Davidson, NC 28035