This site contains materials originally published in yearbooks, newspapers, and other Davidson College publications. You may encounter upsetting racist, oppressive, and outdated representations in these documents. They are included for historical accuracy and do not represent the views of the current Davidson College community, which honors the dignity of all persons and commits itself to a quest for truth and the building of a more just and humane future.
D-Files primarily contain secondary source information and are housed in Archives and Special Collections. This includes newspaper articles, scanned memos, brochures and pamphlets, memorial speeches, and booklets. The files also hold scans of primary documents, such as diaries and letters, from other institutions. For a full list of these resources, consult the linked documents at the bottom of this box.
A selection of D-Files related to Lake Norman:
Local – Lake Norman (1959 - present)
Local – Lake Norman Community Development Council
Local – McGuire Nuclear Power Station
Local - Davidson Land Conservancy
Local - Cowans Ford Dam
Local - Asbestos
Environmental Awareness (at Davidson College)
Duke Endowment
Benefactors – Duke, James Buchanan
Lake Campus
Our collections can be searched and browsed through our catalog.
This database includes finding aids for our institutional records and manuscript collections. Finding aids describe collections, how they were created, and how they can be accessed.
If have questions or would like to view our materials in-person, please email the department for assistance.
Manuscript materials are largely unpublished documents such as diaries, letters, speeches and sermons. The collections may be about an individual, a family, or a group. The majority of our collections relate to students and alumni of Davidson College and to civic organizations in the town of Davidson, North Carolina. Listed below are relevant collections related to Lake Norman. Collections are organized by manuscript number, along with a brief description of the collection's contents, and are hyperlinked to the collection's digital finding aid.
Archival materials are the institutional records of Davidson College from its establishment in 1837 to the present day. Included within the collections are president's office records, academic department files, and student organization records. Listed below are relevant collections related to Lake Norman, including a brief description of the collection's contents and a hyperlink to the collection's digital finding aid.
Audiovisual materials are media including record albums, audiocassettes, videocassettes, music cds, cd-roms, and dvds. Most of our collection deals with campus events such as convocation, freshman orientation lectures, commencements, and reunions. There are also oral history tapes related to college and town history. Listed below is an interview from our collection about Lake Norman. If have questions or would like to view this material in-person, please email archives@davidson.edu for assistance.
CD 119: Frank Gudger Oral History Interview, 2013
This interview was conducted as part of the Lake Norman Project. Mr. Gudger started working for Duke Power (now Duke Energy) in 1959, assisting in the construction of Cowans Ford Dam.
Archival materials are the institutional records of Davidson College from its establishment in 1837 to the present day. Included within the collections are president's office records, academic department files, and student organization records. Listed below are relevant collections related to Duke Energy, including a brief description of the collection's contents and a hyperlink to the collection's digital finding aid.
Athletics Director, Records, 1894- (RG 8-1)
Description: This collection contains several folders detailing the uses for and maintenance of the Lake Campus, with reference to Duke Power. The collection also has two maps from Duke Power showing deeded land and the Catawba-Wateree Project.
Vice President for Academic Affairs - Administrative Files (RG 3-1-1)
Description: This collection holds information about Duke Power in the 1980s, as well as the Duke Endowment between 1964 and its 60th anniversary in 1984.
Archival materials are the institutional records of Davidson College from its establishment in 1837 to the present day. Included within the collections are president's office records, academic department files, and student organization records. Listed below are relevant collections related to environmental action at Davidson, including a brief description of the collection's contents and a hyperlink to the collection's digital finding aid.
Description: This collection consists of student papers given to the Archives by several academic departments. A couple of papers and oral history transcripts discuss asbestos and environmental issues in the town of Davidson.
Environmental Action Coalition (EAC), Records, 2003 - (RG 12-82)
Description: This student group was formed in 1996 as a result of the merger between the environmental and recycling groups
Davidson College Library Research Guides are licensed under
CC BY-SA 4.0.
Mailing Address: Davidson College - E.H. Little Library, 209 Ridge Road, Box 5000, Davidson, NC 28035