Manuscript materials are largely unpublished documents such as diaries, letters, speeches and sermons. The collections may be about an individual, a family, or a group. The majority of our collections relate to students and alumni of Davidson College and to civic organizations in the town of Davidson, North Carolina.
Listed below are relevant collections related to international students and international student history. Collections are organized by manuscript number, along with a brief description of the collection's contents, and are hyperlinked to the collection's digital finding aid.
If you would like to view any of the materials listed below, please email firstname.lastname@example.org to make an appointment.
A selection of D-Files related to internationals students and international student history:
Davidson College - Japan Scrapbook (DC0137s)
Description: The collection consists of two scrapbooks compiled by Davidson alumni from Japan, a directory of Japanese-Davidsonians, and a memory book written in kanji. The scrapbooks contain photographs of Davidson College campus scenes, alumni and their family, Davidson faculty and staff visiting Japan, and visits by Japanese to Davidson.
Lucy Martin Currie Collection (DC0193s)
Description: The collection consists of Currie's reminiscences of growing up in Davidson (1922), notes for a talk on Davidson history for the Tuesday Club, a typescript "Fact and Fiction About Old Davidson" written for the Thelemite Book Club (1955), a typescript of a talk on "Our Foreign Alumni,” copies of newspaper clippings relating to Currie and 2 photographs.