It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Over 46,000 streaming videos with nearly 343,000 video clips; the titles are educational in nature and cover a wide variety of topics in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Includes Oscar, Emmy and Peabody award winning documentaries, interviews, instructional and vocational training videos, historical speeches and newsreels. Also includes content formerly in the NC LIVE Video Collection.
Kanopy streaming service offers movies, documentaries, foreign films, classic, and Independent films. Davidson College students, faculty, and staff have unmediated access to certain collections within the Kanopy service.
A one-year license is purchased upon the 4th view of a title for 30 seconds or longer, this license is $135. For a list of titles already licensed by Davidson, please see the Kanopy tab within the Video Research Guide. For mediated collections, faculty can request immediate purchase of required films for a course on the Kanopy platform.
A streaming video collection of over 375 educational and documentary programs produced for the Public Broadcasting Corporation (PBS). Includes selected episodes from "American Experience," "Art21" and "Frontline," to Ken Burns' "Baseball." Note: Beginning Fall 2018 the collection is accessible from the Films on Demand site.
Digitalia Film Library (streaming video) is a multilingual collection of films from Spain, France and other European countries, North American Classic films, and Latin American films from South America, Central America and Caribbean including Mexico, Argentina, Chile, Brazil, Bolivia, Costa Rica, Guatemala and others. This library now has approximately 1,200+ films, unlimited use and unlimited number of simultaneous users.
This collection contains over 1800 exclusive documentaries including documentary films from Bullfrog Films, Icarus Films, the BBC, the National Film Board of Canada, CBC, Television Trust for the Environment, MediaStorm, Terra Nova Films, KimStim, and Scorpion TV, and other independent filmmakers from around the world. Davidson College purchased this collection with perpetual viewing rights for titles.
Meet the Press from Alexander Street opens up a wealth of information to libraries by making over 1,500 hours of footage—the full surviving broadcast run to date—available online in one cross-searchable interface. Since its television premiere in 1947, Meet the Press has cemented its position as an institution in broadcast journalism. For the first time ever, network television’s longest running program—with its thousands of interviews, panels, and debates—is available via streaming online video.
(2009 to present) Indexes and provides short clips of over 1 million news programs from national U.S. networks as well as television stations in San Francisco and Washington, D.C. Information and clips are added 24 hours after they are aired. From the Internet Archive.
Note: Clips, but not complete broadcasts are available online.
Davidson Library Catalog: Video Search
Start your search for videos here! The library catalog lists most of our DVD and streaming video titles.
You can also find videos that may be available through interlibrary loan; just change the drop-down menu to "Libraries Worldwide."