Research Guides: English: Find Articles

Core English Databases

Annual Bibliography of English Language & Literature
Indexes journal articles, essays, and books, book reviews, and critical editions of literary works published world-wide; covers all literature's in English as well as the English language, bibliography, textual studies, and the history of publishing.
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text

The Modern Language Association International Bibliography covers scholarship in a broad range of Humanities disciplines related to global literature's and languages.
World Shakespeare Bibliography Online
World Shakespeare Bibliography Online provides annotated entries for all important books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews of productions, audiovisual materials, electronic media, and other scholarly and popular materials related to Shakespeare and published or produced between 1960 and the present.

Additional Databases

Multidisciplinary databases cover many subjects, including English. Browse related databases using the tabs.

Ebsco Research Tools

Search across most EbscoHost article databases as well as the Ebsco e-book collection; interdisciplinary in scope. Note: this search excludes America: History & Life, Historical Abstracts, and L'Année philologique.

Includes:
--Academic Search Complete
--Anthropology Plus
--Applied Science & Business Periodicals Retrospective: 1913-1983
--Art Full Text
--Art Index Retrospective
--ATLA Religion Database
--Biography Index Retrospective: 1946-1983
--Biography Reference Bank
--Book Review Digest Plus
--Book Review Digest Retrospective: 1903-1982
--Communication & Mass Media Complete
--EconLit
--Essay and General Literature Retrospective
--Education Index Retrospective: 1929-1983
--Film & Television Literature Index
--GreenFILE
--Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984
--Index Islamicus
--Index to Legal Periodicals & Books Full Text
--Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts
--Music Index Full Text
--Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective: 1908-1981
--International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text
--MLA International Bibliography
--eBook Collection
--OmniFile Full Text Mega
--PsycARTICLES
--PsycINFO
--Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982
--RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
--Short Story Index Retrospective: 1915-1983
ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages & Renaissance

A bibliography of citations for secondary source material about the Middle Ages and Renaissance, 400-1700.
NOTE: ITER Bibliography moved to EBSCO in 2025
JSTOR
JSTOR is an online library of journals, academic ebooks, images, and primary sources. Includes ArtStor licensed images. AI interactive research tool available when logged into your JSTOR account.
Oxford Journals Online
Journals published by Oxford University Press. The collection includes journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Project MUSE
Database of humanities and social science ebooks and journals.

Titles are DRM-free allowing for unlimited access, downloading and printing, and simultaneous usage.
ProQuest Research Tools
Multidisciplinary collection of journal, magazine, and newspaper articles, e-books, dissertations, and more. Search includes all of the Davidson College Library ProQuest databases.

English

How to Find Articles

Citation management

Core English Databases

Additional Databases