Full-text biographies, critical essays, journal articles, and excerpts of criticism and reviews; covers dramatists, essayists, novelists, poets, and other writers from all time periods.
Gale eBooks is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. A good source for background information. Download, print, or email as many chapters as you like. You can even send chapters to your Google or Microsoft account.
Welcome to the English research guide! Use this guide as a starting point for your research in this subject area.
This site contains descriptions and examples on crafting argument in college writing, citation and avoiding plagiarism, drafting and revising, and more.
The MLA International Bibliography covers scholarship in a broad range of Humanities disciplines related to global literatures and languages. Coverage includes materials published in more than 100 countries and in more than 50 languages, in the areas of literatures and languages from around the world
The full text of The Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism, edited by Michael Groden et al. (2nd ed.; 2005). Provides descriptions of theories, ideas, and critics from the time of Plato to the present and also covers developments in other disciplines that have shaped literary theory and criticism. International in scope with an emphasis on Western critical theory.
Within Oxford Reference, you may find results that range from short-entry, general reference to more in-depth articles on specialized subjects. Note: while we do not have access to all of the titles in the full collection, the default search covers the titles that Davidson owns.
Search OED Online for word definitions, etymologies, and quotations. Every three months updates revise existing entries and add new words. The Historical Thesaurus of the OED arranges the dictionary by meaning. Trace the changing language of the material world, the mind, and society, from the Anglo-Saxon period to the modern day
