How to Find Scholarly Journals & Articles

Using Journal Finder or ILL to Obtain Articles

If you know the title of the article or journal you are looking for, search for it with Publication Finder:

Using Publication Finder

You might come across a citation of an article that you want to find.

To locate the article with the journal finder, determine the Journal Title, Year, Volume, and Issue Number

In this citation:

Bazerman, C. (1981). What Written Knowledge Does: Three Examples of Academic Discourse. Philosophy of the Social Sciences,, 11(3). 

• Journal Title is Philosophy of the Social Sciences
• The Year is 1981
• The Volume is 11
• The Issue Number is 3

"The journal is available in our collections. Select the Title Journal or "Full Text to Access."

Under "Full Text Access" you can view which years we have available in our collections. Our earliest access year is 1971. We have access to the Present via Sage Premier. Select the collection that includes the data range of the article you wish to find.

Finding Scholarly Articles

What exactly is a scholarly article? 

By most definitions, a scholarly article is an academic journal article that goes through a peer-review process.

You can find scholarly articles by looking up the title in the library catalog, searching a library database, or browsing an academic journal.

Selecting a Database

Here at Davidson we have numerous databases to use for finding scholarly articles. One great way to select a good database is to determine what subject areas are relevant to the article you are looking for. 

To browse databases and other resources by subject, go to Guides By Subject