It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Call Number: GV1588.45 .O94 2017 Main Library Stacks
Publication Date: 2017-02-01
In recent decades, dance has become a vehicle for querying assumptions about what it means to be embodied, in turn illuminating intersections among the political, the social, the aesthetical, and the phenomenological. The Oxford Handbook of Dance and Politics edited by internationally laudedscholars Rebekah Kowal, Gerald Siegmund, and the late Randy Martin presents a compendium of newly-commissioned chapters that address the interdisciplinary and global scope of dance theory - its political philosophy, social movements, and approaches to bodily difference such as disability, postcolonial, and critical race and queer studies.
The Oxford Handbook of Dance and Theater collects a critical mass of border-crossing scholarship on the intersections of dance and theatre. Taking corporeality as an idea that unites the work of dance and theater scholars and artists, and embodiment as a negotiation of power dynamics withimportant stakes, these essays focus on the politics and poetics of the moving body in performance both on and off stage.Contemporary stage performances have sparked global interest in new experiments between dance and theater, and this volume situates this interest in its historical context by extensively investigating other such moments: from pagan mimes of late antiquity to early modern archives to Bolshevik Russiato post-Sandinista Nicaragua to Chinese opera on the international stage, to contemporary flash mobs and television dance contests.
The Oxford Handbook of Dance and the Popular Screen sets the agenda for the study of dance in popular moving images - films, television shows, commercials, music videos, and YouTube - and offers new ways to understand the multi-layered meanings of the dancing body by engaging withmethodologies from critical dance studies, performance studies, and film/media analysis. Through these arguments, the chapters demonstrate how dance on the popular screen might be read and considered through the different bodies and choreographies being shown.Questions the contributors consider include: How do dance and choreography function within the filmic apparatus? What types of bodies are associated with specific dances and how does this affect how dance(s) is/are perceived in the everyday? How do the dancing bodies on screen negotiate power,access, and agency? How are multiple choreographies of identity (e.g., race, class, gender, sexuality, and nation) set in motion through the narrative, dancing bodies, and/or dance style? What types of corporeal labors (dance training, choreographic skill, rehearsal, the constructed notion of"natural talent") are represented or ignored? What role does a specific film have in the genealogy of Hollywood dance film? How does the Hollywood dance film inform how dance operates in cultural meaning making?Whether looking at Bill "Bojangles" Robinson's tap steps in Stormy Weather, or Baby's leap into Johnny Castle's arms in Dirty Dancing, or even Neo's backwards bend in The Matrix, the book's arguments offer a powerful corrective to the lack of accessible scholarship on dance in the popularscreen.
Over 200,000 e-books published by academic, trade, and professional publishers; covers all subject areas. Includes tools that allow you to create your own virtual bookshelf, bookmark pages, and add and save notes and highlights. Some titles can be downloaded for short-term use; some allow chapter downloads. Limitations on copying, saving, and printing vary by title, and reset after 24 hours. To locate ebooks without user limitations use the Advanced Search option. Near the end of the page, you'll find a field for "Number of Copies." Select "More Than 1" or "Unlimited."
Over 200,000 ebooks in a wide variety of subject areas. Limitations on printing, downloading, saving vary by title. Create your own EBSCOhost account to add notes, virtual bookmarks, and download ebooks to read them offline To download, Adobe Digital Editions software is required, and books are only available offline for short-term loans.
To read online, if an eBook is left “open” in a browser window but is no longer being used, then the eBook becomes available to other users after the last user’s EBSCOhost session expires (30 minutes, by default) and the system confirms that they haven’t used the title in 5 minutes (for a total of up to 35 minutes).
(c. 1980 to present) Over 2,200 ebooks published by Duke University Press in the humanities and social sciences. All Duke ebook titles are DRM-free: users can print, read online, and download PDFs by chapter and allows for unlimited multiuser access.
(c. 1930s to present; coverage varies by journal) A comprehensive index of philosophy journal articles, books, book chapters, and reviews. Includes real-time indexing of pre-prints, links to Open Access archives and philosopher's personal Web pages, fine-grained classification by topic, email alerts, reading lists, discussion forums, and more.
PhilPapers is sponsored by the Centre for Digital Philosophy at the University of Western Ontario, the American Philosophical Association, the Institute of Philosophy, and academic libraries, including the Davidson College Library.
(c. mid-1990s to present) A collection of over 700 full-text journals and more than 65,000 eBooks published by university and scholarly presses. Covers the humanities and social sciences. Titles are DRM-free allowing for unlimited access, downloading and printing, and simultaneous usage.
The MUSE platform offers 100% complete, full-text, journal, book, and related content from over 200 not-for-profit publishers including many of the world's most distinguished university presses, scholarly societies, independent publishers, and academic departments.