Gale eBooks is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. A good source for background information. Download, print, or email as many chapters as you like. You can even send chapters to your Google or Microsoft account.
Welcome to the Dance research guide! Use this guide as a starting point for your research in this subject area.
(1955 to present) Over 700 streaming videos, including performances and documentaries; covers ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance.
This collection is part of the Alexander Street Press video/audio collection.
Works best with Internet Explorer (version 7.0 or higher) and Firefox (version 3.0 or higher).
Requires Adobe Flash Player 9 or higher.
(c. 1982 to present) Includes citations to journal articles, books, essays, and doctoral dissertations on all aspects of theatre and the performing arts; international in scope. Includes the full text of 200 full-text journals and 370 full-text books.
Since its 1998 publication, the International Encyclopedia of Dance has been the definitive source on this expressive art form, documenting all types of dance around the world and throughout history. Now available in an affordable, attractive paperback edition, this indispensable referencemakes a stunning addition to the small library.In six volumes, the Encyclopedia offers authoritative coverage of the full spectrum of dance, including theatrical, ritual dance-drama, folk, traditional, ethnic, and social dance. Extensive historical and cultural overviews of many nations appear along with articles on specific dance forms, musicand costumes, performances, biographies of dancers and choreographers, and much more. The set features nearly 2,000 alphabetically arranged articles, an exhaustive index, full cross-references, and more than 2,300 illustrations.Amazing in its scope and dazzling in its diversity, the Encyclopedia is like no other reference work on dance. Accessibly written and arranged for use by a wide audience, it is essential for academic and public libraries, and every arts and humanities aficionado.