Research Guides: History 336: Sexual Revolutions in Modern Europe: Find Travel Accounts

Find travel guides in the Davidson Catalog

To find travel guides from earlier time periods,

Do an advanced search in the Davidson Library catalog
Enter the name of the country or region
In the next line, enter the following (be sure to include the quotation marks):
- "description and travel" or guidebooks
Limit to the Subject field.
Filter to an appropriate range of years in the Start Date and End Date fields.

Note: it is not always possible to borrow early travel guides on interlibrary loan. You can search Google Books and the Hathi Trust to see if the guides have been digitized.

Traveler's accounts

Women's Travel Writings in Revolutionary France, Part I by Stephen Bending; Stephen Bygrave (Editor)
Call Number: Ground Floor PR1309.T73 W65 2007
ISBN: 9781851968626
Publication Date: 2007-05-01
A seven-volume facsimile set which comprises accounts of France in the 1790s. The texts are drawn from the Chawton House Library collection.
French Travellers in the United States, 1765-1932 : a Bibliography by Monaghan, Frank and Samuel Marino
Call Number: Reference - 2nd floor Z1236 .M73 1961
Publication Date: 1961
First published in separate form, 1933, by the New York Public Library. Reprinted 1961, with supplement, by Antiquarian Press.
American Diaries: An Annotated Bibliography of Published American Diaries and Journals to 1980 by Laura Arksey (Editor); Nancy Pries (Editor); Marcia Reed (Editor)
Call Number: Reference - 2nd floor CT214 .A75 1983
ISBN: 9780810318007
Publication Date: 1983-11-01
V. 1. Diaries written from 1492 to 1844 -- v. 2. Diaries written from 1845 to 1980. These are an expansion and revision of a work by William Matthews: American diaries : an annotated bibliography of American diaries written prior to the year 1861.

More traveler's accounts

Archive of Americana
The digital Archive of Americana is a family of comprehensive historical collections that allows researchers to discover and explore the United States in unprecedented depth and detail.
This archive searches many historical collections that contain books, pamphlets, broadsides, newspapers, government documents and ephemera printed in America over centuries.
Includes:
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998
African American Periodicals, 1825-1995
African History and Culture, 1540-1921
Afro-Americana Imprints, 1535-1922
America's Historical Imprints
America's Historical Newspapers
American State Papers, 1789-1838
Black Authors, 1556-1922
Caribbean History and Culture, 1535-1920
Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980
House and Senate Journals, Series I, 1789-1817
Senate Executive Journals, 1789 - 1980
The Civil War: Antebellum Period to Reconstruction, 1840-1877
U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817 - 1994

Some travel accounts can also be located in the following collections:

Nineteenth Century Collections Online
(c.1730-1916) Digital collection of primary sources from the long nineteenth century. The content is sourced from the world's preeminent libraries and archives. It consists of monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, photographs, statistics, and other kinds of documents in both Western and non-Western languages.
Contains the following collections: Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange; British Politics and Society; British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture; European Literature, 1790-1840: The Covey Collection; Europe and Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, and Conquest; Photography: The World Through the Lens; Science, Technology and Medicine, 1780-1925; Women: Transnational Networks.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
(1701-1800) Digital facsimiles of 185,000 books, pamphlets, almanacs, advertisements, songs, and other materials published in Great Britain and British North America during the eighteenth century.
Also available on Artemis.

Citation management

Access Zotero Zotero Guide

Schedule a research consultation

Meet with one of the Davidson research librarians to answer your research questions.