Skip to main content

Activism and Protests at Davidson College

A guide to archival collections and materials related to the history of student activism at Davidson College.

Contents of this Guide

Since the 1960s, students at Davidson College have become increasingly involved with local, national, and international issues of social justice, advocacy, and equality. Students, individually and collectively, have participated in and organized demonstrations to campaign for political and social change, both on campus and beyond. 

This guide is designed as a resource to help researchers locate archival collections and materials from Archives & Special Collections related to the history of student activism at Davidson College. This guide is organized by topic, including:

For each topic, relevant resources from Archives and Special Collections are listed, as well as other related library and campus resources.

Shanty town protesting apartheid (Image from 1986 Quips and Cranks)

Students protesting apartheid on Chambers Lawn (Quips and Cranks, 1986)

This guide is not a comprehensive bibliography of student activism at Davidson. At this time, there are many recent and ongoing student activism initiatives that may not currently be reflected in our institutional records. Through the Justice, Equality, Community (JEC) Student and Alumni Advisory Council, Archives & Special Collections is currently involved in an ongoing effort to support student activist organizations in documenting their histories, with the hope of adding these records to our institutions archival collections. If you are a student activist and would like to know more about how to document your organization's efforts, please email archives@davidson.edu

Follow Us!

Hours and Location

Hours

The Archives & Special Collections is currently closed as a precaution against COVID-19. Staff are currently working remotely Monday-Friday from 8:30 am to 5:00 pm. Please email archives@davidson.edu for assistance.
Questions? Need help? Ask Us
Davidson College Library, Box 7200, 209 Ridge Rd., Davidson, NC 28035-7200
Creative Commons license logo for CC by-sa 4.0
This Davidson College Library Research Guides are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.
All box-title icons from Entypo pictograms by Daniel Bruce — www.entypo.com