Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Women at Davidson

A guide to archival and special collections materials related to the history of women at Davidson College and in the Town of Davidson.

Overview

When Davidson became officially coeducational in 1972, women began getting involved in all aspects of campus life, including athletics. However, initially, women were limited to playing on previously all-male sports teams. For example, when Tracey Charles '74 became the first woman to letter in varsity sports in 1974, she earned her letter on the men's sailing team. All-women's teams soon followed, and in 1973-1974, the first women's basketball team was organized at Davidson.

Listed below are select resources from Archives and Special Collections related to the history of women's athletics at Davidson.

Photograph of 1984 Women's Tennis championship team

National Women’s Tennis Champs, 1984

Archival Materials

Archival materials are the institutional records of Davidson College from its establishment in 1837 to the present day. Included within the collections are president's office records, academic department files, and student organization records. Listed below is a selection of relevant collections related to the history of women's athletics. Collections are organized by record group, along with a brief description of the collection's contents, and are hyperlinked to the collection's digital finding aid.

Vice President of Academic Affairs, Dean of Faculty, Administrative Files (RG 3-1-1)

Description: The Vice President for Academic Affairs and Dean of the Faculty is the chief academic officer on campus. Faculty research files, the Faculty Handbook, academic departmental files and programs and concentrations are a few examples of materials found in the VPAA's records. Included in this collection of administrative files are records and reports related to numerous aspects of campus life, including athletic programs, international education, and campus committees. Here, there is a "Report on Women's Athletics and Compliance with Title IX, 1975-1986."

Vice President for Academic Affairs (VPAA). Faculty Committee to Review Women's Athletics (RG 3-1-2-049)

Description: This collections consists of correspondence, minutes, reports, and supporting documentation from the Faculty Committee to Review Women's Athletics. This committee was established to review the current status of women's athletics at Davidson College, including the scope, philosophy and level of support of the program, NCAA and Southern Conference regulations relative to the sponsorship of women's programs, and trustee policy statements pertaining to women's athletics. 

To access select digitized materials from this collection, click here. You must have a Davidson College account to access these materials.

College Communications, Publicity Files - Subjects (RG 5-7-3b)

Description: This collection consists of publicity and information files compiled on campus related topics. The files may contain newspaper clippings, press releases, and photographs. These include materials on "Athletics - Women, 1983-1987," "Title IX," and "Women at Davidson, 1972-1989." 

Athletics - Sports Information. Media, 1912 - (RG 8-2-2)

Description: The Sports Information Office is responsible for issuing news releases about all sports teams for local, regional, and national publications; editing and publishing media guides, game programs, and promotional materials for sports activities. This collection contains examples of general media guides and programs for specific games, including those for women's sports (basketball, field hockey, soccer, tennis, volleyball, etc.).

Browse Our Collections

Screenshot of catalog page

Our collections can be searched and browsed through this catalog.

This database includes finding aids for our institutional records and manuscript collections. Finding aids describe collections, how they were created, and how they can be accessed.

If have questions or would like to view our materials in-person, please email archives@davidson.edu for assistance. 

Questions? Need help? Ask Us
Davidson College Library, Box 7200, 209 Ridge Rd., Davidson, NC 28035-7200
Creative Commons license logo for CC by-sa 4.0
This Davidson College Library Research Guides are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.
All box-title icons from Entypo pictograms by Daniel Bruce — www.entypo.com